Joan Baez Announces New Album, Final Tour

Share This:

Joan Baez

Whistle Down The Wind, a new album from Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee Joan Baez, will be released March 2 via Bobolink/Razor & Tie Records.

The album is available for pre-order on vinyl now. CD pre-order info is expected soon.

Recorded over a 10-day period in L.A., Whistle Down the Wind was produced by three-time Grammy Award-winner Joe Henry (Bonnie Raitt, Allen Toussaint and others) and includes songs written by Tom Waits, Anohni, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Josh Ritter, Eliza Gilkyson and others. Of working with Henry, Baez comments, in a press release, “It was a hunch on both of our parts that we could make an album together. As it turned out it was a no-brainer. We both work fast and were musically on the same wavelength. I work best with musicians who are as willing as I am to wing it and he assembled a group of players who did just that. Meaning invent each song from scratch.”

Shortly after her Hall of Fame induction last April, Baez announced that 2018 would be her last year of formal touring. “I’m looking forward to being on the road with a beautiful new album about which I am truly proud. I welcome the opportunity to share this new music as well as longtime favorites with my audiences around the world,” Baez stated in the press release. Her European tour dates will begin on March 2 and are now on sale. An extensive North American tour will follow in the fall, with full details to be announced soon.

Related: Baez announced her retirement from touring last fall

The new music marks the first release from Baez since 2008’s Grammy-nominated album, Day After Tomorrow. Its release coincided with the 50th anniversary of her 1958 residency at the famed Club 47 in Cambridge, Mass., where she launched her career.

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Whistle Down the Wind Track Listing
1. Whistle Down The Wind (Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan)
2. Be Of Good Heart (Josh Ritter)
3. Another World (Anohni)
4. Civil War (Joe Henry)
5. The Things We Are Made Of (Mary Chapin Carpenter)
6. The President Sang Amazing Grace (Zoe Mulford)
7. Last Leaf (Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan)
8. Silver Blade (Josh Ritter)
9. The Great Correction (Eliza Gilkyson)
10. I Wish The Wars Were All Over (Tim Eriksen)

Listen to the title track from Whistle Down the Wind

Best Classic Bands Staff

Best Classic Bands Staff

The BCB team brings you the latest Breaking News, Contests, On This Day rock history stories, Classic Videos, retro-Charts and more.
Best Classic Bands Staff

Latest posts by Best Classic Bands Staff (see all)

Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.