Everly Brothers Documentary DVD Out in September

Share This:

Everly Brothers DocumentaryThe Everly Brothers will be the subject of a new documentary, Harmonies From Heaven, to be released September 9 in the 2-DVD, DVD+Blu-ray and digital formats from Eagle Rock Entertainment. The film, which was broadcast on BBC4 in the U.K. earlier in the year, contains additional bonus interviews not included in the broadcast version, along with a DVD of a previously unreleased live performance recorded for Australian TV at Chequers Nightclub in 1968. This never-before-seen concert footage includes live versions of “Bye Bye Love,” “Cathy’s Clown,” “Wake Up Little Susie,” “Bird Dog,” “(’Til) I Kissed You,” “So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad),” “Let It Be Me,” and more. (See full list below.)

According to an announcement, Harmonies From Heaven tells the story of brothers Phil (who died in 2014 at age 74) and Don Everly (now 79), focusing on the heyday of their careers in the ’50s and ’60s. Featuring new interview footage with Don and archival interviews with Phil, the film follows their career from child performers on their father’s radio show through their move to Nashville and their relationship with publishers Acuff-Rose. The DVD specifically delves into their relationship with the songwriting team of Felice and Boudleaux Bryant, who provided many of their early hits, including their first million-seller “Bye Bye Love.” The film also includes other performance footage of the Everlys.

Harmonies From Heaven also features interviews with classic rock artists inspired by the Everly Brothers, including Art Garfunkel, Keith Richards, Graham Nash, Dave Edmunds, Albert Lee and Waddy Wachtel, plus lyricist Tim Rice, and highlights their influence on younger generations of artists with English musician/singer-songwriter Jake Bugg (who punctuates the film with two exclusive acoustic performances of classic Everly Brothers songs).

The Everly Brothers, who were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in its inaugural year of 1986, were famously contentious. They initially broke up the act following a performance in 1973, Phil having smashed his guitar onstage and storming off. They reunited 10 years later, after embarking on solo careers, and notably performed with Simon and Garfunkel on the latter’s own reunion tour in 2003-04.

The Everly Brothers: Harmonies From Heaven (Disc Two—Live At Chequers Nightclub, Sydney) Track List:

1. “Lucille”
2. “Walk Right Back”
3. “Susie Q”
4. “Wake Up Little Susie”
5. “Cathy’s Clown”
6. “All I Have To Do Is Dream”
7. “Bye Bye Love”
8. “So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)”
9. “Bowling Green”
10. “(Til) I Kissed You”
11. ‘Bird Dog”
12. “Let It Be Me”
13. “Be-Bop-A-Lula”
14. “Kentucky”

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.