Moody Blues, Cars, Bon Jovi Lead Rock Hall 2018

Share This:

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame continued to induct many previously overlooked legendary classic rock bands when it announced on Dec. 13 that the Moody Blues, the Cars, Bon Jovi and Dire Straits were among those selected for the Class of 2018. Also named were singer-pianist Nina Simone and one of the inventors of rock ‘n’ roll music, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, the latter in the Early Influence category.

The 33rd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by Klipsch Audio, will take place on Saturday, April 14 at Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio. The Rock Hall will host a week of events leading up to the celebration including the unveiling of the 2018 Inductee exhibit and Hall of Fame floor.

On March 30, many of the evening’s presenters were announced. Ann Wilson will induct the Moody Blues. Brandon Flowers of The Killers will induct the Cars. Brittany Howard of Alabama Shakes will induct Tharpe. Mary J. Blige will induct Nina Simone. Steven Van Zandt is listed as a “special guest.” Earlier, it was revealed that Howard Stern would induct Bon Jovi. Still no word, apparently, on who is inducting Dire Straits.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2018 Induction Ceremony will have its television premiere on HBO on May 5 at 8 p.m. ET.

Four of the inductees were on the ballot for the first time: Dire Straits, the Moody Blues, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe. Simone would’ve turned 85 on February 21, 2018.

Additionally, the top five artists, as selected by the public, comprised a “fans’ ballot” that was tallied along with the other ballots to determine the 2018 Inductees. Four of the top five artists (Bon Jovi, the Moody Blues, Dire Straits and the Cars) from the fan ballot will be inducted as performers in 2018.

Band members to be inducted:

Bon Jovi: David Bryan, Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, Alec John Such and Tico Torres. (Hugh McDonald was added after the original announcement.)

The Cars: Elliot Easton, Greg Hawkes, David Robinson, Ric Ocasek and Benjamin Orr.

Dire Straits: Alan Clark, Guy Fletcher, John Illsley, David Knopfler, Mark Knopfler and Pick Withers.

The Moody Blues: Graeme Edge, Justin Hayward, John Lodge, Mike Pinder and Ray Thomas. (Denny Laine was added after the original announcement.)

Among the classic rock nominees overlooked for induction were the J. Geils Band, the Zombies and Judas Priest. Also passed over were Class of 2018 nominees Kate Bush, Depeche Mode, Eurythmics, LL Cool J, MC5, the Meters, Radiohead, Rage Against the Machine, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and Link Wray.

Related: Moody Blues members recall Days of Future Passed

To be eligible for Induction, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of induction. The 2018 Nominees had to release their first official recording no later than 1992.

Ballots were sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, including current living Inductees, historians and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.