Robert Plant Issues Prev. Unreleased Track From New ‘Digging Deep’ Collection

Share This:

Robert Plant is marking the third season of his podcast, Digging Deep with Robert Plant, with the release of a solo-career-spanning new 2-CD set Digging Deep: Subterranea. The limited edition collection, coming Oct. 2, gathers 30 songs spanning four decades, including three previously unreleased tracks.

Digging Deep, announced July 27, showcases tracks from each of the 8x GRAMMY® Award-winner’s 11 solo albums. Highlights include the #1 rock hit, “Hurting Kind,” and the GRAMMY® Award-nominated “Shine It All Around,” alongside the previously unreleased exclusives, “Nothing Takes the Place of You” (written by New Orleans musician Toussaint McCall and recorded for the 2013 film, Winter in the Blood) and a duet of Charley Feathers’ rockabilly classic, “Too Much Alike” featuring Patty Griffin.

Another, “Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1),” taken from the soon-to-be-released album Band of Joy Volume 2, was released on July 30.

Plant is accompanied throughout Digging Deep by a lineup of musicians that includes Jimmy Page, Buddy Miller, Patty Griffin, Phil Collins, Nigel Kennedy, Richard Thompson, and his bands, Strange Sensation and The Sensational Space Shifters.

Digging Deep with Robert Plant has just begun its third season. Five new episodes will premiere every two weeks, all recorded earlier this year with BBC 6 Music’s Matt Everitt before a live audience at London’s Rough Trade East.

Listen to the Season III trailer of Digging Deep With Robert Plant

From the announcement: Plant’s music is the result of a lifetime of journeys exploring the music from the Welsh borders to the Sahara and from Nashville to the misty mountains. The influences and friends collected along the way can be heard in his songs. Digging Deep with Robert Plant finds him delving into his back catalogue to revisit songs while also telling stories of inspiration, collaboration, and intervention. The podcast is available from Apple, Spotify, and YouTube.

Digging Deep Tracklisting

Hurting Kind
Shine It All Around
Ship of Fools
Nothing Takes the Place of You *
Darkness, Darkness
Heaven Knows
In the Mood
Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1) *
New World
Like I’ve Never Been Gone
I Believe
Dance with You Tonight
Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
Great Spirit (Acoustic)

Angel Dance
Wreckless Love
White Clean & Neat
Silver Rider
Fat Lip
29 Palms
Last Time I Saw Her
Embrace Another Fall
Too Much Alike (Feat. Patty Griffin) *
Big Log
Falling in Love Again
Memory Song (Hello Hello)
Promised Land

* Previously Unreleased

Related: Plant launched Season 2 of the podcast with a vinyl collection

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.