Kinks ‘Everybody’s in Show-Biz’ to Get Expanded Reissue

Share This:
Showbiz LP Cover (PRNewsFoto/Legacy Recordings)

Showbiz LP Cover (PRNewsFoto/Legacy Recordings)

The 10th album by The Kinks, Everybody’s in Show-Biz, captured a band in transition when originally released in 1972. The double album of both studio and live recordings found the most English of the British Invasion bands both writing and singing songs about America and touring the nation as well as performing in concert at Carnegie Hall in 1972 not long after a four-year ban on The Kinks playing in the U.S. by the American Federation of Musicians had been lifted. Among the studio tracks was one genuine Ray Davies masterpiece, “Celluloid Heroes.”

On June 3, RCA/Legacy Recordings will release expanded two CD/three LP versions of Everybody’s in Show-Biz that feature previously unreleased studio recordings and live tracks from the March 1972 concert. It includes the original studio and live album tracks, produced by Ray Davies, in their entirety alongside a full disc’s worth of 13 Carnegie Hall live tracks and four previously unissued studio session outtakes (recorded for the album in 1972 at Morgan Studios, Willesden, London).

The Carnegie Hall recordings include a variety of Kinks originals in addition to unconventional covers including “Mr. Wonderful” (from the Sammy Davis Jr.-led musical of the same name), the 1920s popular standard “Baby Face” (made famous by Al Jolson) and “The Banana Boat Song” (a calypso-folk perennial popularized by Harry Belafonte). The new Legacy Edition of Everybody’s In Show-Biz includes never-before-heard live versions of “Sunny Afternoon,” “Get Back in Line,” “Complicated Life” and the rarely-played “Long Tall Shorty.” It also includes alternate studio versions of “Supersonic Rocket Ship” and “Unreal Reality” and the debut release of “History,” which foreshadowed The Kinks’ next concept album, 1973’s Preservation Act 1 (and became “Money Talks” on Preservation Act 2).

Please sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter. Form is on every page.

Everybody’s In Show-Biz showcases the second great classic Kinks line-up: frontman Ray Davies, guitarist Dave Davies, bassist John Dalton, keyboardist John Gosling and drummer Mick Avory, joined by brass and woodwind players Mike Cotton, John Beecham and Alan Holmes (all of whom played on the band’s previous RCA Records debut album Muswell Hillbillies). The new edition of Everybody’s In Show-Biz includes in-depth liner notes penned especially for this release by noted rock scholar David Fricke.

Everybody’s in Show-Biz expanded RCA/Legacy CD edition

The Original Album
1. Here Comes Yet Another Day
2. Maximum Consumption
3. Unreal Reality
4. Hot Potatoes
5. Sitting In My Hotel
6. Motorway
7. You Don’t Know My Name
8. Supersonic Rocket Ship
9. Look A Little On The Sunny Side
10. Celluloid Heroes
11. Top Of The Pops (live)
12. Brainwashed (live)
13. Mr. Wonderful (live)
14. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues (live)
15. Holiday (live)
16. Muswell Hillbilly (live)
17. Alcohol (live)
18. Banana Boat Song (live)
19. Skin And Bone (live)
20. Baby Face (live)
21. Lola (live)

Tracks 1-10 Recorded March-October 1972 at Morgan Studios, Willesden, London
Tracks 11-21 Recorded March 3, 1972 at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York

Bonus Tracks
1. ‘Til The End Of The Day (live)
2. You’re Looking Fine (live) (previously unreleased commercially)
3. Get Back In Line (live) *
4. Have A Cuppa Tea (live) *
5. Sunny Afternoon (live) *
6. Muswell Hillbilly (live) *
7. Brainwashed (live) *
8. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues (live) *
9. Holiday (live) *
10. Alcohol (live) *
11. Complicated Life (live) *
12. She’s Bought A Hat Like Princess Marina (live)
13. Long Tall Shorty (live) *
14. History (studio outtake) *
15. Supersonic Rocket Ship (alternate mix) *
16. Unreal Reality (alternate mix) *
17. Sophisticated Lady (early rehearsal version of “Money Talks”) *
* Previously Unissued

Tracks 1-13 Recorded March 2-3, 1972 at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York
Tracks 14-17 Recorded at Morgan Studios, Willesden, London

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.