Bruce Springsteen to Receive Special Tony Award

Share This:

You can add a Tony Award® to Bruce Springsteen’s long list of honors. The organizers announced today (May 1) this year’s honorees of its Special Tony Awards: Springsteen and John Leguizamo. The two 2018 honorees will receive their awards at the American Theatre Wing’s 72nd Annual Tony Awards ceremony on Sunday, June 10.

Springsteen is currently starring in Springsteen on Broadway, a solo acoustic performance at the Walter Kerr Theatre, which is an intimate night with the musician, his guitar, a piano, and his stories. Leguizamo is being honored for the body of his work. He was represented on Broadway this season with Latin History for Morons, which he wrote and starred in—and which received a Tony nomination this year as Best Play.

The American Theatre Wing’s 72nd Annual Tony Awards, hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, will air on the CBS Television Network on Sunday, June 10 (8:00-11:00 PM, ET/delayed PT) live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City.

With his Tony, Springsteen will now be three-quarters of the way to earning the very rare “EGOT”: the acronym for an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony. (He’s been nominated several times for an Emmy but hasn’t won.) It’s a very select list; 12 have won for competitive awards including Mel Brooks, Marvin Hamlisch and Audrey Hepburn. Six others have achieved it with at least one honorary (i.e., non-competitive) award including Barbara Streisand, Harry Belafonte and Quincy Jones.

On March 26, Springsteen extended the show’s run until December 15. It’s believed that that will be its final performance. The run is essentially sold-out but there is a digital lottery which continues to operate through the extension for fans interested in purchasing tickets. For details, visit Tickets might also be available here and here.

The Tony Awards, which honors theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway, are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

Springsteen’s recording career spans more than 45 years, beginning with 1973’s Columbia Records release Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ. He has released 18 studio albums, garnered 20 Grammy Awards, won an Oscar, has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, was a 2009 recipient of Kennedy Center Honors, was named 2013 MusiCares Person of the Year by The Recording Academy, and in 2016 was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter


Best Classic Bands Staff

Best Classic Bands Staff

The BCB team brings you the latest Breaking News, Contests, On This Day rock history stories, Classic Videos, retro-Charts and more.
Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.