The Who in London: ‘America’s in For a Treat’

Share This:
The Who performing at SSE Arena, February 13 2016 (YouTube screen cap)

The Who performing at SSE Arena, February 13 2016 (YouTube screen cap)

Roger Daltrey was able to test his voice at a one-off date in London on February 13th and by all accounts he passed with flying colors. The Who had been forced to postpone the second U.S. leg of their Hits 50! tour last fall when Daltrey was diagnosed with viral meningitis. (Click here for Best Classic Bands‘ earlier coverage.) The singer sounded great at Saturday night’s concert at Wembley’s SSE Arena (see complete setlist below). The classic rock legends’ U.S. dates resume February 27th in Detroit.

In its 5-star review, Britain’s The Telegraph wrote: “The hits kept coming – a savage “Bargain,” “You Better You Bet” given fresh zip – and, in the shadow of Davie Bowie’s passing, it felt thoroughly appropriate simply to bask in this mighty band’s ear-blasting past glories.” The reviewer noted Daltrey’s “familiar growling menace” and closed with: “America’s in for a treat.”

Here’s opening number “Who Are You”… (nice seats!)…

Here are the four songs from Tommy that they performed. Roger sounds great on “Listening to You”!

And he nails the primal scream-like “Looove” during “Love Reign O’er Me”:

The Who, February 13, 2016, SSE Arena, London (via
1. “Who Are You”
2. “The Seeker”
3. “The Kids Are Alright”
4. “I Can See For Miles”
5. “My Generation”
6. “Pictures of Lily”
7. “Behind Blue Eyes”
8. “Bargain”
9. “Join Together”
10. “You Better You Bet”
11. “I’m One”
12. “The Rock”
13. “Love, Reign O’er Me”
14. “Eminence Front”
15. “Amazing Journey”
16. “Sparks”
17. “Pinball Wizard”
18. “See Me, Feel Me”
19. “Baba O’Riley”
20. “Won’t Get Fooled Again”

Tickets are still available for some of the U.S. dates which will conclude on May 29th in Los Vegas. Click here to purchase.

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.