Goo Goo Dolls’ ‘Boy Named Goo’ Reissued

Share This:

Goo Goo Dolls LPIt’s hard to believe that it’s been 20 years now since alt-rockers the Goo Goo Dolls released their seminal record, A Boy Named Goo. Fans can celebrate the occasion with a special anniversary edition of the album (via Warner Bros. Records), featuring seven previously unreleased tracks that were recorded live at The Academy in New York in 1995. The new tracks include both acoustic recordings and covers.

The double-platinum A Boy Named Goo is perhaps best known for featuring the song “Name,” the Dolls’ first major hit, which features an unusual guitar tuning and composition that frontman Johnny Rzeznik says came about quite accidentally. The band has released nine studio albums, scored 14 Top 10 Hot A/C radio hits, and received four Grammy nominations over the course of their lengthy career. They’ve spent most of 2015 in the studio writing and recording their 11th record, to follow up 2013’s Magnetic.

The anniversary edition of A Boy Named Goo is available for purchase in vinyl, CD and digital formats.

A Boy Named Goo 20th Anniversary Track List:

1. Long Way Down
2. Burnin’ Up
3. Naked
4. Flat Top
5. Impersonality
6. Name
7. Only One
8. Somethin’ Bad
9. Ain’t That Unusual
10. So Long
11. Eyes Wide Open
12. Disconnected
13. Slave Girl
14. Long Way Down*
15. Name*
16. Naked*
17. Impersonality*
18. Million Miles Away* (Plimsouls cover)
19. Don’t Change* (INXS cover)
20. Flat Top*
*Previously unreleased, live, all from The Academy, New York City 11/21/95

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.