Eric Clapton Previews New Studio Album in Tokyo

Share This:
Eric Clapton's I Still Do album cover, designed by Peter Blake

Eric Clapton’s I Still Do album cover, designed by Sir Peter Blake

Update (April 14): Clapton gave his Japanese audience – and now you! – another taste of his forthcoming album. On the opening night of his brief Japanese tour, Slowhand and his band performed four songs from I Still Do among the 17-song set which included a lot of familiar covers (see setlist below). And check out the fan video for “I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine” from Nippon Budokan below.

Ed Sheeran was a surprise guest last night, performing on three songs. Clapton’s touring band:
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards, vocals
Dave Bronze – bass
Henry Spinetti – drums
Dirk Powell – multi-instrumentalist
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Update (April 4): Eric Clapton has released the first single, “Can’t Let You Do It,” from his forthcoming album, I Still Do. Have a listen below!

Update (2/21/16): Clapton has refuted the claim that the album features a performance by George Harrison (see below) by posting on his Facebook account:

There is no truth to the rumor that George Harrison plays or sings on the forthcoming album ‘I Still Do”…..

Eric Clapton will have his first new album in three years when he releases I Still Do on May 20th via his Bushbranch Records/Surfdog Records. The recording reunites the classic rock legend with equally legendary producer Glyn Johns, who previously worked with him on his 1977 album, Slowhand.

And it’s a reunion of sorts for Clapton with longtime friend George Harrison. A tip of the cap to Billboard for uncovering the identity of the guest musician Angelo Mysterioso who is listed on acoustic guitar and vocals on “I Will Be There” (see credits below). That’s the pseudonym that the former Beatle used for contractual reasons when he co-authored the Cream song “Badge,” for instance. We can’t wait to hear the song.

The album’s artwork – an illustration of Clapton – is the work of esteemed artist Sir Peter Blake, whose previous art includes the co-design of The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band album sleeve, as well as the Band Aid single “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” and The Who’s Face Dances. I Still Do features Blake’s signature at the bottom right corner of the cover.

The LP includes covers of songs from Bob Dylan (“I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine”), J.J. Cale (“Somebody’s Knockin'”) and Robert Johnson (“Stones in My Passway”).

Johns has produced or co-produced albums for The Rolling Stones (Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out!), The Who (Who’s NextWho Are You, It’s Hard) and The Eagles (EaglesDesperado) among many others.

(If you’re a new Best Classic Bands reader, we’d be grateful if you would Like our Facebook page and/or bookmark our Home page.)

The personnel includes:

Eric Clapton: Guitars, Tambourine & Vocals
Henry Spinetti: Drums & Percussion
Dave Bronze: Double Bass & Electric Bass
Andy Fairweather Low: Electric & Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals
Paul Carrack: Hammond Organ & Backing Vocals
Chris Stainton: Keyboards
Simon Climie: Keyboards, Electric & Acoustic Guitar
Dirk Powell: Accordion, Mandolin & Backing Vocals
Walt Richmond: Keyboards
Ethan Johns: Percussion
Michelle John – Background Vocals
Sharon White: Background Vocals
Angelo Mysterioso: Acoustic Guitar & Vocals on “I Will Be There”

The I Still Do song list:

1. “Alabama Woman Blues”
2. “Can’t Let You Do It”
3. “I Will Be There”
4. “Spiral”
5. “Catch The Blues”
6. “Cypress Grove”
7. “Little Man, You’ve Had a Busy Day”
8. “Stones in My Passway”
9. “I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine”
10. “I’ll Be Alright”
11. “Somebody’s Knockin'”
12. “I’ll Be Seeing You”

Slowhand featured some of Clapton’s best work as a solo artist with songs like “Cocaine,” “Wonderful Tonight,” “Lay Down Sally” and where he really stretched out on the great guitar song “The Core.”

Clapton’s last solo studio effort was 2013’s Old Sock which peaked at #7 on the U.S. albums chart. His studio releases have become infrequent; his previous one was 2010’s Clapton and before that 2005’s Back Home. His last single to chart in the U.S. was 1998’s “My Father’s Eyes,” which reached #16.

Update (April 14): Here’s the full set list from the opening night (April 13) of his Japanese tour (via
1. “Somebody’s Knockin'”
2. “Key to the Highway”
3. “I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man”
4. “Next Time You See Her”
5. “I Shot the Sheriff”
6. “Circus Left Town”
7. “Nobody Know You When You’re Down and Out”
8. “I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine”
9. “I Will Be There”
10. “Cypress Grove”
11. “Sunshine State”
12. “Gin House”
13. “Wonderful Tonight”
14. “Crossroads”
15. “Little Queen of Spades”
16. “Cocaine”
17. “High Time We Went”

Best Classic Bands Staff

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Dave
    #1 Dave 14 April, 2016, 20:28


    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.