Mamas and the Papas: Complete Singles Coming to Vinyl

Share This:

The Mamas and the Papas’ legacy is being celebrated with a 2-LP, 31-track set that brings together on vinyl the A and B side of every single the group released, all in their rare mono single mixes. The Mamas and The Papas: The Complete Singles arrives on Dec. 6 via Real Gone Music.

Over a two-year period, from 1965-1967, the singing quartet with the beautiful harmonies earned six Top 5 singles including their first hit, “California Dreamin'” (#4), soon followed by “Monday, Monday” (#1), “I Saw Her Again” (#5), “Words of Love” (#5), “Dedicated to the One I Love” (#2) and “Creeque Alley” (#5).

The collection has been remastered by Aaron Kannowski, and includes notes by co-producer Ed Osborne that feature quotes drawn from extended interviews with Michelle Phillips and Dunhill label head and producer Lou Adler. The gatefold package also includes a number of rarely seen images of the group.

A 2016 2-CD version, also from Real Gone Music, features a whopping 53 songs, with many of their solo releases, including 16 from Mama Cass Elliot, like “It’s Getting Better” and “Make Your Own Kind of Music.”

With the debut of their first hit, “California Dreamin’,” on the charts in 1965, the Mamas and the Papas – Cass Elliot, Michelle Phillips, John Phillips and Denny Doherty – proclaimed themselves to be a potent new force in the burgeoning West Coast folk-rock movement, announcing to the world that something special and beautiful was happening in California.

The Mamas and The Papas: The Complete Singles Track Listing

Record One Side One

1. Go Where You Wanna Go
2. Somebody Groovy
3. California Dreamin’
4. Monday,Monday
5. Got a Feelin’
6. I Saw Her Again
7. Even If I Could
8. Look Through My Window
9. Once Was a Time I Thought

Record One Side Two

1. Words of Love
2. Dancing in the Street
3. Dedicated to the One I Love 4. Free Advice
5. Creeque Alley
6. Did You Ever Want to Cry
7. Twelve Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming)
8. Straight Shooter

Record Two Side One

1. Glad to Be Unhappy
2. Hey Girl
3. Dancing Bear
4. John’s Music Box
5. Safe in My Garden
6. Too Late
7. Dream a Little Dream of Me
8. Midnight Voyage

Record Two Side Two

1. For the Love of Ivy
2. Strange Young Girls
3. Do You Wanna Dance
4. My Girl
5. Step Out
6. Shooting Star

Related: “Creeque Alley” – Behind the song

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.