Rolling Stones ‘Goats Head Soup’ Deluxe Edition Arrives

Share This:

The Rolling Stones have released expanded editions of their 1973 album, Goats Heads Soup. The original, which topped the charts in the U.S., the U.K., and many other countries, yielded a #1 single, the ballad “Angie,” as well as such memorable songs as “Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker),” “Star Star,” and “Dancing With Mr. D.” In the collection’s July 9 announcement, the group released a song, “Criss Cross,” recorded during the album’s studio sessions, one of three previously unreleased tracks included in the new edition which arrived September 4 via Interscope/UMe. (The Stones had teased the release on July 8 with a 20-second clip and accompanying graphic for the album that read, “Something’s cooking… ” Several prominent music forums had been speculating on the arrival of the album’s deluxe version for months.)

Goats Head Soup arrives in a variety of editions. The Super Deluxe box set features 35 tracks on 3-CDs and a Blu-ray, with a new stereo album mix, rarities/alternative mixes, three previously unreleased tracks (“Criss Cross,” “Scarlet” with Jimmy Page, and “All The Rage”), as well as a 1973 concert, The Brussels Affair, with 15 tracks recorded at Forest National Arena. This edition is packaged with a 120-page book of photos and essays and four reproduced 1973 tour posters, “rolled up within the packaging to avoid creases.” Order the CD edition of the box set here. The Brussels Affair concert includes such Stones classics as “Brown Sugar,” “Jumpin’ Jack Flash,” Honky Tonk Women” and “Gimme Shelter.” See the complete track listing and listen to several tracks below.

Of note, the previously unreleased “Scarlet” features Jimmy Page guesting on guitar, along with Traffic and Blind Faith alum, Rick Grech, on bass.

Watch the lyric video for “Scarlet” featuring Jimmy Page

A 4-LP edition of the box set includes the same audio material, as a half-speed master, by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, pressed on 180-gram vinyl. Order the vinyl edition here.

A 2-LP version is also available as is a 2-CD edition.

Watch the video for “Criss Cross”

Watch the official unboxing video

Goats Head Soup Super Deluxe Edition CD/Blu-ray Track Listing

CD1 – 2020 Stereo Mix

1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star

CD2 – Rarities & Alternative Mixes

1. Scarlet
2. All The Rage
3. Criss Cross
4. 100 Years Ago (Piano Demo)
5. Dancing With Mr D (Instrumental)
6. Heartbreaker (Instrumental)
7. Hide Your Love (Alternative Mix)
8. Dancing With Mr D (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker) – (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
10. Silver Train (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)

Listen to the previously unreleased “All the Rage” and early versions of several album tracks

CD3 – ‘Brussels Affair – Live 1973’

1. Brown Sugar
2. Gimme Shelter
3. Happy
4. Tumbling Dice
5. Star Star
6. Dancing With Mr D
7. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
8. Angie
9. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
10. Midnight Rambler
11. Honky Tonk Women
12. All Down The Line
13. Rip This Joint
14. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
15. Street Fighting Man

CD4 (Blu-ray)
Dolby Atmos, 96kHz/24 bit high resolution stereo, and 96 kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1

(Photo: Aubrey Powell/Hipgnosis; used with permision)

1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star
+ Original Videos: Dancing With Mr D, Silver Train & Angie

Goats Head Soup was originally released on Aug. 31, 1973. The album was the follow-up to 1972’s two-record set, Exile on Main St. and preceded 1974’s It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll. Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Charlie Watts and Mick Taylor performed on every track; bass guitarist Bill Wyman appeared on just four.

Joining the Stones on the sessions were such well known players as Nicky Hopkins, Billy Preston, Ian Stewart, Bobby Keys, and Jim Horn. It was the last Stones album to be produced by Jimmy Miller.

Related: In April 2020, the Stones surprised their fans with a new recording

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.