Cranberries’ Final Album, ‘In the End’: Listen

Share This:

Thirty years after forming in Limerick (initially as The Cranberry Saw Us) The Cranberries have released their 8th and final album, In The End. The group had revealed the news of the album and released the first single, “All Over Now,” on January 15, the first anniversary of the unexpected death of their lead singer, Dolores O’Riordan.

On April 15, the band released the haunting title track. It was the last song they recorded for the album.

“What a way to finish the record. To have “In The End” as the last song is just perfect,” says the band’s Fergal Lawler. “Lyrically it is self-explanatory,” adds Noel Hogan. “It speaks for itself, it just is a lovely feeling and it’s a gorgeous song.” Listen to it below.

The 11-track album via BMG, brings a remarkable career to a fitting and powerful closure. “All Over Now” blends rock, alternative and catchy almost pop-sounding melodies to deliver a classic Cranberries sound.

The Cranberries – O’Riordan, Lawler, Noel Hogan and Mike Hogan – emerged from the pre-Brit-pop scene of the early ’90s, with their trademark indie guitar sound and O’Riordan’s distinctive Celtic-tinged, lilting vocal style. They rose to global fame thanks to their now-classic songs “Linger,” “Zombie” and “Dreams.” The band have sold more than 40 million albums worldwide.

Related: Rockers Pay Tribute to O’Riordan

From the album announcement: In The End is not a valediction, it is a celebration, one that stands as a powerful testimony to the life and creative work of Dolores and her brothers in music Noel, Mike and Fergal.

The genesis of In The End began in May 2017 while the band were on tour. By winter of 2017 Noel and Dolores had written and demoed the eleven songs that would eventually appear on the album. “Dolores was so energized by the prospect of making this record and to getting back out on the road to play the songs live,” recalls Noel Hogan.

Listen to the title track from “In the End”

In coming to terms with her tragic passing the surviving members listened to the songs and, with the support of O’Riordan’s family, wanted to honor their close friend and collaborator by completing the record.

Speaking about the band’s concerns at the time Noel Hogan said, “We knew this had to be one of the, if not the, best Cranberries album that we could possibly do. The worry was that we would destroy the legacy of the band by making an album that wasn’t up to standard. Once we had gone through all the demos that Dolores and I had worked on and decided that we had such a strong album we knew it would be the right thing and the best way that we could honour Dolores.”

With the songs at various stages of completion they turned to Stephen Street – who had produced four of their previous albums including Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? and No Need To Argue – and spent four weeks in a London studio building the sounds around her vocals from the original demos. “It was a bitter sweet time. The joy of recording new tracks is always exciting and one of the best parts of being in a band. At the end of every day when we’d laid down our parts there was a sense of sadness, knowing that Dolores wouldn’t be in that evening to work on that day’s track,” recalls Noel Hogan.

Listen to “The Pressure”

Speaking about the single and the album O’Riordan’s mother, Eileen, said, “I miss her awfully, specially today, as does the entire family. That said I can’t think of a more fitting way to commemorate the first anniversary of her passing and to celebrate her life than to announce to the world the release of her final album with the band. She was very excited about this new album and was really looking forward to its release. I have no doubt that she is happy now and would be delighted with today’s announcement.”

In The End – Tracklisting
1. All Over Now
2. Lost
3. Wake Me When It’s Over
4. A Place I Know
5. Catch Me If You Can
6. Got It
7. Illusion
8. Crazy Heart
9. Summer Song
10. The Pressure
11. In The End

Best Classic Bands Staff

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
    #1 PAUL CORMIER 4 October, 2020, 13:28

    we love and miss you delores !!!

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.