Steve Howe Anthology 2 Coming August 11

Share This:

Guitarist Steve Howe will add a second volume to his Anthology series with a collection that highlights his key contributions to groups like Yes and Asia, while also rounding up his numerous collaborations with musicians like Paul Sutin and Oliver Wakeman. Anthology 2: Groups and Collaborations will be released on July 21 from Rhino as a 3-CD set designed by longtime Yes album cover and set designer, Roger Dean. Pre-order here.

The collection spans more than 50 years of Howe’s prolific career with 56 tracks that mix hits with a generous selection of unreleased recordings, including several with Keith West, who was Howe’s bandmate in Tomorrow and The In Crowd. (Complete track listing is below.)

Starting with his work in the mid-Sixties, the collection opens with songs that Howe recorded during brief tenures with bands like The Syndicats (“Maybellene,” 1964), The In Crowd (“Blow Up,” 1967), Tomorrow (“Revolution,” 1968) and Bodast (“Nothing To Cry For,” 1969).

The collection is packed with many of Howe’s contributions to Yes and Asia, two of the music world’s most successful progressive rock bands, including rarities like “Montreux’s Theme,” a song Yes recorded during sessions for Going For the One (1977), and “Masquerade,” a previously unreleased song from Asia.

Related: Details on Yes’ 2017 Yestival tour

The collection includes two songs from Howe’s stint in GTR, the group he founded in 1986 with former Genesis guitarist Steve Hackett. Also included is “Brother Of Mine,” a song he recorded in 1989 with former Yes members: Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford and Rick Wakeman.

The Steve Howe Trio, a jazz band he started with his son Dylan on drums, is represented by “Kenny’s Sound” and “Sweet Thunder.”

The set’s third disc explores some of Howe’s many musical collaborations through the years, including songs he recorded with Fish of the band Marillion (“Time and a Word,” 1993), keyboardist Oliver Wakeman (“The Forgotten King,” 2001) and Paul Sutin (“Voyager,” 1995). In addition, more than a dozen of Howe’s unreleased collaborations make their debut here.

Info on 2015’s original Anthology is available here.

Steve Howe Anthology 2 Groups and Collaborations Track List

Disc 1

“Maybellene” – The Syndicats
“On The Horizon” – The Syndicats
“Finger Poppin'” – The In Crowd
“Blow Up” – The In Crowd
“You’re On Your Own” – The In Crowd
“My White Bicycle” – Tomorrow
“Claramount Lake” – Tomorrow
“Revolution” – Tomorrow
“Why” – Tomorrow
“The Spanish Song” – Canto
“Beyond Winter” – Bodast
“Nothing To Cry For” – Bodast
“Roundabout” – Yes
“Montreux’s Theme” – Yes
“Tempus Fugit” – Yes
“Heat Of The Moment” – Asia
“One Step Closer” – Asia
“Lying To Yourself” – Asia
“Masquerade” – Asia *
“When The Heart Rules The Mind” – GTR
“Toe The Line” – GTR

Disc 2

“Brother Of Mine” – Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe
“Dangerous” – (Backing Track) Yes
“Without Hope You Cannot Start The Day” – (Backing Track) Yes
“Bring Me To The Power” – Yes
“From The Balcony” – Yes
“Nine Voices (Longwalker)” – Yes
“We Agree” – Yes
“Kenny’s Sound” – Steve Howe Trio
“Sweet Thunder” – Steve Howe Trio
“Wish I’d Known All Along” – Asia
“Over And Over” – Asia
“Through My Veins” – Asia
“Light The Way” – Asia
“Hour Of Need” – (Long Version) Yes
“Reno (Silver And Gold)” – Asia
“Believe Again” – Yes

Disc 3

“Traveller” – Billy Currie
“Time And A Word” – Fish
“Sweet Eternity” – Paul Sutin and Steve Howe
“Voyager” – Paul Sutin and Steve Howe
“Lily’s In The Field” – Paul Sutin and Steve Howe
“Turn Of The Century” – Steve Howe and Annie Haslam
“Forgotten King” – Oliver Wakeman and Steve Howe
“Most Of A Man” – Dean Dyson and Steve Howe *
“Cross That Bridge” – Keith West and Steve Howe *
“Heaven” – Keith West and Steve Howe *
“Strange Girl” – Keith West and Steve Howe *
“Luxury Of Love” Keith West and Steve Howe *
“Curved Ball” – Keith West and Steve Howe *
“Running In The Human Race” – Max Bacon and Steve Howe *
“Hot Touch” – Max Bacon and Steve Howe *
“Runaway” – Max Bacon and Steve Howe *
“Forever” – Max Bacon and Steve Howe *
“Tell The Story” – Max Bacon and Steve Howe *
“Slim Pickins'” – Ray Fenwick and Steve Howe *

* previously unreleased

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.