Paul Weller to Release 14th Solo Album

Share This:

True Meanings, the 14th solo album by British singer-songwriter Paul Weller, and 26th album of his entire career, will be released on Sept. 14. It’s described in a press release as “an album characterized by grandiose-yet-delicate, lush orchestration: an aesthetic to which Weller’s better-than-ever voice, singing some of his most nakedly honest words, is perfectly suited.”

The release further states, “A dreamy, peaceful, pastoral set of songs to get lost in, it is both an album that his faithful audience has been wanting him to make for a long time, and an album that many new people outside of that audience will relate to.”

True Meanings follows Weller’s 2017’s release A Kind Revolution.

In addition to Weller’s band, Rod Argent of the Zombies provides Hammond organ on “The Soul Searchers” and piano and Mellotron on “White Horses”; folk artists Martin Carthy and Danny Thompson add picked guitar and double bass, respectively, to “Come Along”; Little Barrie plays lead guitar on “Old Castles”; Lucy Rose sings backup on “Books”; and “Movin On” is the result of a “scratchy demo” on Weller’s phone that was sent to Tom Doyle of the White Label project. Noel Gallagher also makes a guest appearance.

Related: Weller’s early band The Jam is one of many great acts not yet inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Lyrics for four of the 14 songs here were written, to Weller’s melodies, by others. Connor O’Brien from Villagers came up with the words to opener “The Soul Searchers,” while “Bowie,” “Wishing Well” and the closing “White Horses” are all the work, lyrically, of Erland Cooper from Erland & the Carnival.

True Meanings was produced by Weller except “The Soul Searchers,” which was co-produced by Paul and Conor O’Brien, and “Movin On,” which was co-produced by Weller and White Label. The album was engineered and recorded by Charles Rees and mixed by Jan Stan Kybert.

True Meanings was recorded in just over three weeks at Weller’s own Black Barn Studio with the aforementioned revolving cast of characters dropping in for a day here and there. The orchestration was added soon after and that was that.

True Meanings is released on the following formats:

CD – housed in a ‘soft-pack’ gatefold card wallet with 12-page booklet.

Deluxe CD – Limited, deluxe edition CD in a casebound book package, including a 28-page booklet of photos and lyrics.

Vinyl LP – Double heavyweight black vinyl LP, housed in a gatefold ‘tip-on’ sleeve, with 8-page booklet fixed inside the sleeve, plus a download card. The tip-on sleeve is limited to initial orders only.

True Meanings will be available for streaming and download at all digital retailers.

Track Listing

1. The Soul Searchers
2. Glide
3. Mayfly
4. Gravity
5. Old Castles
6. What Would He Say?
7. Aspects
8. Bowie
9. Wishing Well
10. Come Along
11. Books
12. Movin On
13. May Love Travel With You
14. White Horses

Watch the lyric video for “Aspects,” from True Meanings



Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.