Fleetwood Mac’s 1975 Self-Titled LP Expanded: Hear

Share This:

The lineup was so new, even their U.S. label didn’t know who was who!

It’s easy to forget, but until the current Fleetwood Mac lineup made its debut in the summer of 1975 with the band’s second self-titled album, they had just two songs chart on the U.S. Hot 100 and none since 1969. In the U.K., their string of hits had ended in 1970.

That all changed when the band, with Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks as members, released Fleetwood Mac. An overwhelming smash, the record topped the Billboard album chart, spent more than a year in the Top 40, and sold more than five million copies in the U.S.

The album featured five now-classic rock hits: “Monday Morning,” “Landslide,” “Over My Head” (#20 in the U.S.), “Rhiannon” (#11) and “Say You Love Me” (also #11).

Fleetwood Mac revealed on Nov. 16 the next title in their ongoing reissue campaign with the January 19, 2018 release of Fleetwood Mac: Deluxe Edition. The collection includes newly remastered audio, rare and unreleased studio and live recordings, and more in several formats:

Deluxe (3CD/DVD/LP): The original album with newly remastered audio on CD and LP; rare and unreleased studio and live recordings; plus a DVD with 5.1 Surround Sound and high-resolution mixes of the original album
Expanded (2CD): The original album with newly remastered sound expanded with rare and unreleased studio and live recordings
Remastered (CD): Original album with newly remastered sound
– Remastered audio via digital download and streaming services

Listen to an early version of “Say You Love Me”

Fleetwood Mac’s lineup solidified in 1974 when Buckingham and Nicks joined Mick Fleetwood, John McVie, and Christine McVie to form what would ultimately become the band’s most successful incarnation.

Listen to an early version of “Landslide” from the collection

Fleetwood Mac: Deluxe Edition is packaged in a 12 x 12 embossed sleeve with rare and unseen photos along with in-depth liner notes written by David Wild featuring new interviews with all the band members.

“Here’s a song about an old Welsh witch…”

Related: The five members are planning a world tour, set to begin in 2018

Both the deluxe and expanded editions feature a newly remastered version of the original album along with single mixes for “Over My Head,” “Rhiannon” and “Say You Love Me.” Also included is a second disc with an alternate version of the complete album comprised of unreleased outtakes for each album track, plus several unreleased live performances from 1976. Exclusive to the deluxe edition is a third disc filled with even more unreleased live recordings of “Landslide,” “Oh Well,” “Station Man” and “World Turning,” among others.

Fleetwood Mac: Deluxe Edition also comes with a DVD featuring 5.1 Surround Sound and high-resolution 24/96 Stereo Audio mixes of the original album and four single mixes. Completing the set is an LP version of the original album pressed on 180-gram vinyl. (See complete track listing below.)


Disc One: Original Album Remastered and Singles
1. “Monday Morning”
2. “Warm Ways”
3. “Blue Letter”
4. “Rhiannon”
5. “Over My Head”
6. “Crystal”
7. “Say You Love Me”
8. “Landslide”
9. “World Turning”
10. “Sugar Daddy”
11. “I’m So Afraid”
12. “Over My Head” – Single Version
13. “Rhiannon” – Single Version
14. “Say You Love Me” – Single Version
15. “Blue Letter” – Single Version *

Disc Two: Alternates and Live
1. “Monday Morning” – Early Take *
2. “Warm Ways” – Early Take *
3. “Blue Letter” – Early Take *
4. “Rhiannon” – Early Take *
5. “Over My Head” – Early Take *
6. “Crystal” – Early Take *
7. “Say You Love Me” – Early Version *
8. “Landslide” – Early Version *
9. “World Turning” – Early Version *
10. “Sugar Daddy” – Early Take *
11. “I’m So Afraid” – Early Version *
12. “Over My Head” – Live *
13. “Rhiannon” – Live *
14. “Why” – Live *
15. “World Turning” – Live *
16. Jam #2
17. “I’m So Afraid” – Early Take Instrumental *

Disc Three: Live
1. “Get Like You Used To Be” *
2. “Station Man” *
3. “Spare Me A Little” *
4. “Rhiannon” *
5. “Why” *
6. “Landslide” *
7. “Over My Head” *
8. “I’m So Afraid” *
9. “Oh Well” *
10. “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Pronged Crown)” *
11. “World Turning” *
12. “Blue Letter” *
13. “Don’t Let Me Down Again”
14. “Hypnotized” *

DVD: 5.1 Surround Mix and 24/96 Stereo Audio of Original Album plus four single mixes

Side One
1. “Monday Morning”
2. “Warm Ways”
3. “Blue Letter”
4. “Rhiannon”
5. “Over My Head”
6. “Crystal”

Side Two
1. “Say You Love Me”
2. “Landslide”
3. “World Turning”
4. “Sugar Daddy”
5. “I’m So Afraid”

* Previously Unreleased

Best Classic Bands Staff

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Howster
    #1 Howster 9 December, 2017, 12:31

    I’m more interested in the live third disc but it sucks that I’d have to pay deluxe price to get it.

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.