Dave Clark Five ‘All the Hits’ Collection Remastered: Listen

Share This:

A hits collection from British Invasion favorites the Dave Clark Five has been released January 31, 2020, via BMG. The 28-song remastered collection, All the Hits, available on a single CD with 32-page booklet and as a 2-LP gatefold set, includes such favorites as “Glad All Over,” “Bits and Pieces,” “Because,” “Do You Love Me” and “Over and Over.”

Listen to several of the remastered versions below. In addition, the group’s catalog has also been remastered and is also available, although just digitally.

From the Dec. 3 announcement: In the early years of 1960, five working class lads from Tottenham-North London came together, forming The Dave Clark Five, a group that would sell over one hundred million records. Founded by one of the U.K.’s most prolific and celebrated musicians, songwriters and producers Dave Clark, the band spearheaded the British Invasion of the U.S., becoming the first U.K. band to tour there.

Marking 60 years since the band formed, All the Hits is a definitive collection of their greatest hits, remastered by Clark at Abbey Road Studios and available on vinyl for the first time in over 40 years.

The track list includes their first #1 hit, ‘Glad All Over,” which famously knocked The Beatles off the UK’s top spot in 1964 and sold over two-and-a-half million copies, followed by “Bits And Pieces.” which repeated the success; a seemingly impossible feat of a semi-professional outfit, without an agent or manager. Both hits perfectly showcased The DC5’s style of sound, a unique brand of pop, weighed by the foot-stomping drums of Clark and the power of Mike Smith’s vocals.

“It’s a trip for me to go back to vinyl,” says Clark.

Best Classic Bands spoke to Clark in Dec. 2019. Our extensive interview is in two parts, here and here.

The group appeared a record-breaking 18 times on The Ed Sullivan Show, which had a weekly audience of 70 million.

The much-sought after DC5 catalog of recordings has been off the market for over a decade. A 1993 collection, History of the Dave Clark Five, via Hollywood Records, has been long out of print.

Founded by Clark, the five-piece consisted of Clark (drums), Smith (vocals, keyboard), Lenny Davidson (guitar), Denny Payton (saxophone), and Rick Huxley (bass). They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2008.

All the Hits Track Listing
1. Do You Love Me
2. Glad All Over

A Dave Clark Five concert flyer from 1965 (From Jeff Tamarkin Archives; used with permission)

3. Bits And Pieces
4. Can’t You See That She’s Mine
5. Everybody Knows (I Still Love You)
6. Don’t Let Me Down
7. Any Way You Want It
8. Wild Weekend
9. Catch Us If You Can
10. Because
11. I Like It Like That
12. Reelin’ And Rockin’
13. Over And Over
14. Come Home
15. You Got What It Takes
16. Try Too Hard
17. Everybody Knows
18. I’ll Be Yours My Love
19. Nineteen Days
20. Look Before You Leap
21. Til The Right One Comes Along
22. All Night Long
23. Good Old Rock ‘n’ Roll (Medley)
24. Sha-Na-Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
25. Here Comes Summer
26. Put A Little Love In Your Heart
27. Everybody Get Together
28. Universal Love

Related: 12 “lost” British Invasion hits

Best Classic Bands Staff

4 Comments so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Da Mick
    #1 Da Mick 4 December, 2019, 09:15

    The only reason the DC5’s recordings have been unavailable all these years is because of the greed of that control freak Dave Clark himself. Glad to see these recordings come out, but it seems like too little, too late.

    Reply this comment
    • Jonny P.
      Jonny P. 15 January, 2020, 23:56

      How true! Clark could’ve made another fortune had he released the DC5 catalog on CD 30 years ago. Now, most of the fans who would’ve bought them are already dead.

      Reply this comment
    • Kinks
      Kinks 28 January, 2020, 15:38

      Before anyone buys the CD there is a big mistake with it. There are only 15 tracks last song is reeling and rocking

      Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.