Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ ‘Live at the Fillmore 1997’ Box Due

Share This:

Tom Petty at The Fillmore 1997 (Photo: Martyn Atkins; used with permission)

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ legendary 20-night run in 1997 at The Fillmore in San Francisco will be the subject of a new deluxe box set. The title, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers: Live at The Fillmore 1997, arrives Nov. 25, 2022, via Warner Records. The collection is available as a 4-CD or 6-LP deluxe edition, as well as on 2-CDs, and 3-LPs. Six of the shows were professionally recorded and the editions contain numerous previously unreleased performances. The 4-CD edition includes 58 tracks, 35 of which are covers. Much of the band’s well known repertoire such as “American Girl,” “You Don’t Know How It Feels” and “Runnin’ Down a Dream” is included, with often re-arranged and distinctive versions. The band always enjoyed playing a choice selection of classic songs on their setlists and the new release offers plenty, paying tribute to the artists that Petty and the band had been influenced by. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” “You Ain’t Going Nowhere” and “Eight Miles High” featuring guest Roger McGuinn, “Louie Louie” and “Gloria” are among the set’s ample track listing.

Listen to the performance of “Listen To Her Heart” below.

Petty, born Oct. 20, 1050, was 47 years old at the time of the concerts. To put the timeline in perspective,  Petty had released his great solo album, Wildflowers, in 1994 and the band had released the music for the feature film, She’s the One, in 1996. Of the concerts, Petty said, “We all feel this might be the highpoint of our time together as a group… It’s going to be hard to get us off this stage tonight.”

Since Petty’s death in October 2017, his Estate and bandmates have carefully mined his archives. 2018’s An American Treasure set included “I Won’t Back Down” from the Fillmore run. 2020’s Wildflowers & All the Rest also featured music from those concerts. Multiple tracks also appeared on 2009’s The Live Anthology set. The new Fillmore set is a collaboration between the Estate and Mike Campbell.

The 4-CD set includes a 32-page booklet (with previously unseen photographs), three custom guitar picks, a replica All Access laminate, and an embroidered patch (“The Fillmore House Band” – a term that was bestowed on The Heartbreakers during the shows at the Fillmore).

Watch the video for “Listen To Her Heart”

The covers include Bob Dylan’s “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door,” J.J. Cale’s “Crazy Mama,” The Rolling Stones’ “Time is On My Side” and more from The Kinks, Everly Brothers, Bill Withers, The Byrds, Chuck Berry and Booker T. & the M.G.’s. John Lee Hooker guests on “Boogie Chillen.”

Mike Campbell said, “Playing the Fillmore in 1997 for a month was one of my favorite experiences as a musician in my whole life. The band was on fire and we changed the set list every night. The room and the crowd was spiritual… AND… we got to play with some amazing guests. I will always remember those nights with joy and inspiration.”

Petty’s Estate teased the collection in the days leading up to its release. “Did someone say ‘Heartbreakers beach party’?”

The 2-CD track listing appears below the Amazon links.

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers: Live at The Fillmore 1997 2-CD Track Listing
Disc 1
1 Pre-show (spoken interlude)
2 Jammin’ Me
3 Listen to Her Heart
4 Around and Around
5 Good Evening (spoken interlude)
6 Lucille
7 Call Me the Breeze
8 Cabin Down Below
9 The Internet, Whatever That Is (spoken interlude)
10 Time is on My Side
11 You Don’t Know How It Feels
12 I’d Like to Love You Baby
13 Ain’t No Sunshine
14 Homecoming Queen Intro (spoken interlude)
15 The Date I Had with That Ugly Old Homecoming Queen
16 Bye Bye Johnny
17 Did Someone Say Heartbreakers Beach Party? (spoken interlude)
18 Heartbreakers Beach Party
19 Angel Dream
20 The Wild One, Forever
21 American Girl
22 Let’s Hear It For Howie and Scott (spoken interlude)
23 You Really Got Me
24 Runnin’ Down a Dream

Disc 2
1 (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
2 It’s All Over Now
3 Mr. Roger McGuinn (spoken interlude
4 It Won’t Be Wrong
5 You Ain’t Going Nowhere
6 Eight Miles High
7 Honey Bee
8 John Lee Hooker, Ladies and Gentlemen (spoken interlude)
9 Boogie Chillen
10 Sorry, I’ve Just Broken My Amplifier (spoken interlude)
11 Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
12 You Wreck Me
13 Shakin’ All Over
14 Free Fallin’
15 Mary Jane’s Last Dance
16 Louie Louie
17 Gloria
18 Alright for Now
19 Goodnight (spoken interlude)

Related: When Tom Petty Presaged the #MeToo Movement in 1999

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

2 Comments so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Rollbert
    #1 Rollbert 22 September, 2022, 08:16

    Got to see one of the Fillmore concerts when I lived in San Fran. Guest that night was Carl Perkins with Heartbreakers back up. Whole night had rockabilly vibe. Still got the Fillmore poster that was handed out on leaving.

    Reply this comment
  2. TyStick
    #2 TyStick 22 September, 2022, 11:09

    Tom Petty was great, a true Rock and Roll icon. I was lucky enough to see him a few times and one of those times was right before he passed away. His music will live on.

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.