Ronnie James Dio ‘Decade of Dio’ Box Set Due

Share This:

DioArtFans of Ronnie James Dio can now follow the legendary howler and bandmates from their early years with A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993, a newly re-mastered box set that brings together the group’s first six studio albums. The box set includes: Holy Diver (1983), The Last In Line (1984), Sacred Heart (1985), Dream Evil (1987), Lock Up The Wolves (1990) and Strange Highways (1993).

Rhino will release two versions of A Decade Of Dio, first on CD on July 22 and then on vinyl. The latter arrives on October 4 and comes with a bonus 7″ single. On the first side is the 1983 version of “Evil Eyes,” which was originally released as the B-side on the “Holy Diver” single. The flip side features “Time To Burn,” which was the only studio track featured on the otherwise live release, Intermission (1986).

Both versions will feature new artwork by Marc Sasso, who was responsible for many of the band’s iconic album covers.

After memorable stints with Elf, Rainbow and Black Sabbath, Ronnie James Dio left in 1982 and formed Dio with fellow Sabbath bandmate, drummer Vinny Appice. The group’s platinum-selling debut Holy Diver is now revered as a heavy metal masterpiece, with two songs that would become rock signatures: the title track and the epic “Rainbow In The Dark.” The album was certified Platinum in the US in 1989.

The band returned the following year with The Last In Line, which became their second platinum seller and included the single “Mystery,” as well as “We Rock,” a song the band often used to close its shows. Sacred Heart introduced fans to the concert staple “Rock ‘n’ Roll Children.” Dio’s fourth studio album, Dream Evil included the singles “All The Fools Sailed Away” and “I Could Have Been A Dreamer.”

In the Nineties, the group released two more exceptional studio albums. Lock Up The Wolves featured the single “Hey Angel” and rocking title track. Following a brief reunion with Black Sabbath in 1992, Dio returned with Strange Highways. The album featured future fan favorites “Jesus, Mary and The Holy Ghost,” “Evilution” and the title track.

A DECADE OF DIO: 1983-1993
Album Listing

Holy Diver (1983)
The Last In Line (1984)
Sacred Heart (1985)
Dream Evil (1987)
Lock Up The Wolves (1990)
Strange Highways (1993)

Although Ronnie James Dio lost his battle with stomach cancer in 2010, his rock god legacy lives on. The 2nd Annual “Ride for Ronnie” Mortorcycle Rally and Concert recently held on May 22 raised $50,000 for the late classic rocker’s namesake charity. Special guests at the event included cast members from Sons of Anarchy and musicians Lita Ford and Gabbie Rae, among others.

The Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund, co-founded by Wendy Dio, is a non-profit 501(c)(3) charitable fund dedicated to supporting cancer-prevention research, raising awareness and educating the public about the vital importance of early detection and prevention when dealing with this deadly disease.

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.