Hugh Cornwell Anthology Out 10/16

Share This:

Cornwell LP coverIt’s been 25 years since guitarist, singer and songwriter left The Stranglers, the pivotal English punk band he fronted. Over that time he’s made dynamic, stylistically broad and intelligent rock music as a solo artist that has largely flown under the radar in the U.S.(and written five books and played a lot of cricket, his favorite sport).

The Fall And Rise of Hugh Cornwell, a 12-song compilation from his first six solo albums coming on October 16th, offers listeners an opportunity to sample some of his finest tracks. It includes a new recording, “Live It And Breathe it,” that’s a taut post-punk rocker about New York City. It recently premiered on The Huffington Post and can be heard here (scroll way down).

The Fall And Rise of Hugh Cornwell track list:

1. Leave Me Alone
2. Beat Of My Heart
3. Hot Cat On A Tin Roof
4. Break Of Dawn
5. Under Her Spell
6. First Bus To Babylon
7. Please Don’t Put Me On A Slow Boat To Trowbridge
8. Lay Back On Me Pal
9. One Burning Desire
10. Cadiz
11. Long Dead Train
12. Getting Involved

Hear the romantic side of Cornwell on “Cadiz.”

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.