Glen Campbell Classic Albums Coming to Vinyl

Share This:

Three classic ’60s albums by Glen CampbellGentle on My Mind, Wichita Lineman and Galveston, will be reissued on vinyl on March 24 via Capitol Nashville/UMe. The three titles, which haven’t been available on vinyl for decades, will be released on standard black vinyl and housed in replicas of the original sleeve art. Each album will also receive a limited-edition color run that will be available exclusively at at a later date.

Gentle on My Mind, released in 1967 on Capitol Records, was Campbell’s breakthrough album. It was, according to a press release, the first to go to #1 on the country music charts and reach the platinum sales mark of one million albums sold. The title track single, “Gentle on My Mind,” was a cover of John Hartford’s original that featured members of the legendary Wrecking Crew (which included Leon Russell). Campbell’s first major hit, the song earned him his first two Grammy Awards. Gentle on My Mind can be pre-ordered here and streamed here.

Related: The Glen Campbell variety show debuts in 1969

Released as Campbell was becoming a television star, film actor and crossover sensation, Wichita Lineman remains Campbell’s best-selling album. The double-platinum release reached #1 on the Billboard 200 and stayed there for a month. Wichita Lineman stayed atop the country music charts for 20 weeks and was the year’s top release in the genre. The title track, written by Jimmy Webb, was nominated for Record of the Year at the Grammy Awards and Single of the Year at the Academy of Country Music Awards. In 2000, the title track—one of Rolling Stone‘s “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”—was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. Wichita Lineman can be pre-ordered here and streamed here.

Glen Campbell (Photo from his website)

Campbell teamed up with Webb again for two hits on his next album, Galveston, released in 1969. The title track returned to #1 and was a crossover hit. The duo logged another minor hit with the followup single, “Where’s the Playground Susie.” Campbell’s last platinum-selling album of his late-1960s run arrived as he began to host his own television variety show, The Glen Campbell Goodtime Hour. Galveston can be pre-ordered here and streamed here.

Listen to Glen Campbell’s Best Of Playlist here.

Gentle on My Mind track listing

Side A

  1. Gentle on My Mind
  2. Catch the Wind
  3. It’s Over
  4. Bowling Green
  5. Just Another Man
  6. You’re My World

Side B

  1. The World I Used to Know
  2. Without Her
  3. Mary in the Morning
  4. Love Me As If There Were No Tomorrow
  5. Cryin’

Wichita Lineman track listing

Side A

  1. Wichita Lineman
  2. (Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay
  3. If You Go Away
  4. Ann
  5. Words
  6. Fate of Man

Side B

  1. Dreams of the Everyday HousewifeThe Straight Life
  2. Reason to Believe
  3. You Better Sit Down Kids
  4. That’s Not Home

Galveston track listing

Side A

  1. Galveston
  2. Take My Hand for a While
  3. If This is Love
  4. Today
  5. Got to Have Tenderness
  6. Friends

Side B

  1. Where’s the Playground Susie
  2. Time
  3. Until It’s Time for You to Go
  4. Oh What a Woman
  5. Every Time I Itch I End Up Scratchin’ You

Watch Glen Campbell perform “Wichita Lineman”

Don’t miss a post! Sign up for Best Classic Bands‘ Newsletter. Form is on every page.

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.