Whitesnake’s 2015 Deep Purple Tour Being Released

Share This:

Whitesnake revisited the music that singer David Coverdale recorded with Deep Purple in the ’70s when they released The Purple Album in 2015. The album and subsequent tour offered fans new interpretations of Purple classics like “Burn” and “Mistreated.” Rhino announced today (Oct. 19) that highlights from the tour will be featured in a new collection coming Nov. 24.

The Purple Tour (Live) will be available as CD/DVD, CD/Blu-ray, 2-LP and CD.

The double-disc collection also includes video footage of the concert mixed to 5.1 Surround Sound, plus a new music video for “Burn,” band interviews, and a number of bonus performances not available on the CD or vinyl versions.

The Whitesnake line-up that appears on The Purple Tour (Live) includes: Coverdale, guitarists Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra, bassist Michael Devin, drummer Tommy Aldridge and keyboardist Michele Luppi.

Watch a performance of “Burn” from a Whitesnake fan page

Coverdale says there was never any intention to compete against the original recordings. “We just wanted to play the damn songs. Each member of the band brought their incredible individual talents and a real band identity to this music. We’ve all done the best we can with this project with respect to the music, and the legacy of Deep Purple Mk3 and Mk4.”

The Purple Tour (Live) also features performances of Whitesnake classic rock tracks like “Fool For Your Loving” from 1990’s Slip Of The Tongue, “Love Ain’t No Stranger” from 1984’s Slide It In, plus “Still Of The Night,” “Bad Boys,” “Is This Love” and the #1 smash “Here I Go Again” from 1987’s Whitesnake.

Related: A 30th anniversary edition of their self-titled album was released on Oct. 6.

CD, CD/DVD and CD/Blu-ray Track Listing
1. “Burn”
2. “Bad Boys”
3. “Love Ain’t No Stranger”
4. “The Gypsy”
5. “Give Me All Your Love”
6. “Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City”
7. “Mistreated”
8. “You Fool No One”
9. “Soldier of Fortune”
10. “Is This Love”
11. “Fool For Your Loving”
12. “Here I Go Again”
13. “Still of the Night”

Watch “The Gypsy”

DVD/Blu-ray Contents
1. Concert Video in 5.1 and Stereo
2. “Burn” – Music Video
3. Band Interviews
Bonus 5.1 High Resolution Live Audio:
4. “You Keep On Moving”
5. “Lay Down Stay Down”
6. “Lotsanotes”
7. “Stormbringer”


Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.