Scorpions to Release Rock Ballads Anthology

Share This:

The new Scorpions collection is no longer a secret…

Legacy Recordings will release an anthology from Scorpions, Born To Touch Your Feelings – Best of Rock Ballads, of new and classic recordings from the German metal band, on Nov. 24.

Today’s (Oct. 31) announcement notes the new release includes “definitive interpretations of some of the group’s most beloved rock anthems as well as the premiere of two brand-new Scorpions songs–‘Melrose Avenue’ and ‘Always Be With You’–and a 2017 version of ‘Follow Your Heart,’ the album’s first single.” Pre-order the CD here.

“Always Be With You,” by Rudolf Schenker, is “a declaration of love and story of change” written by the guitarist/composer shortly after the birth of his youngest son. “Melrose Avenue,” named after the famous strip in Los Angeles, is from Matthias Jabs.

The power ballads collection comes on the heels of Scorpions’ U.S. tour, which ended abruptly. The band canceled the final five dates of their tour with Megadeth, due to lead singer Klaus Meine’s laryngitis. The announcement stated that Meine “has been advised by a top throat specialist in Los Angeles to rest his voice. If he continues the tour, he could risk permanent vocal damage.”

The band will finish out the year touring in Russia, Eastern Europe and Scandinavia from Nov. 1 through Dec. 7.

“Growing up, we didn’t really listen to Mozart or Haydn but rather to Elvis, the Rolling Stones or Little Richard,” says Scorpions’ founder Schenker. “But still, the more serious kind of music is what we were influenced by starting at a very young age.”

The Scorpions’ song “Born To Touch Your Feelings” was released in 1977 on their fifth studio album, Taken By Force.

Scorpions’ Born To Touch Your Feelings – Best of Rock Ballads Track Listing

1 Born to Touch Your Feelings (MTV Unplugged Studio Edit)
2 Still Loving You (Comeblack Version)
3 Wind of Change (Comeblack Version)
4 Always Somewhere (2015 Remaster)
5 Send Me an Angel (NEW Acoustic Version 2017)
6 Holiday (2015 Remaster)
7 Eye of the Storm (Radio Edit)
8 When the Smoke Is Going Down (2015 Remaster)
9 Lonely Nights
10 Gypsy Life
11 House of Cards (Single Edit)
12 The Best Is Yet to Come
13 When You Came into My Life (MTV Unplugged Studio Edit)
14 Lady Starlight (2015 Remaster)
15 Follow Your Heart (New Version 2017)
16 Melrose Avenue (New song)
17 Always Be with You (New song)

Watch the unedited version of “Born to Touch Your Feelings” (MTV Unplugged)

Founded in Hanover, West Germany in 1965, Scorpions were part of the first wave of metal in the 1970s with their 1972 debut album, Lonesome Crow. The band rose to arena status thanks to the releases Lovedrive, Virgin Killer and Animal Magnetism. In the 80s, Scorpions amassed a string of hits including “Rock You Like a Hurricane” and “No One Like You.” The band has reportedly sold more than 100 million albums worldwide.


Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.