Neil Young’s ‘Carnegie Hall 1970’ Arrives, at Last

Share This:

Neil Young

Neil Young has released the first title in his new Bootleg series. Carnegie Hall 1970, a concert from December 4, 1970, features the complete performance of songs from his solo career, as well as from his time with Buffalo Springfield and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. It includes such favorites as “Southern Man,” “Down By the River,” “Ohio,” “Old Man” and “Only Love Can Break Your Heart.” The set arrived October 1, 2021, on 2-CDs or 2-LPs via Reprise Records. Listen to many of the performances below.

On his Neil Young Archives website on Aug. 18, Young wrote, “This first performance has never been heard. We recorded this great concert in high res analog as it was going down. Bootlegs of the second show have been floating around for years, but never this – the very first show! It’s raw and real!”

Listen to “Cowgirl in the Sand” from Carnegie Hall 1970

This recording was made from the show on December 4, 1970, the first time Young ever performed on the Carnegie Hall stage. There were two shows; one followed at Midnight the next morning. No bootleggers ever captured this first show, and Young considers it to be a much superior show. His After the Goldrush album had been released just weeks before.

Listen to “Cinnamon Girl,” “On the Way Home” and “Southern Man”

The complete track listing, as well as more performances… below the links.

Listen to “I Am a Child”

Neil Young Carnegie Hall 1970 Tracklist

1. Down By the River
2. Cinnamon Girl
3. I Am a Child
4. Expecting to Fly
5. The Loner
6. Wonderin’
7. Helpless
8. Southern Man
9. Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing
10. Sugar Mountain
11. On the Way Home
12. Tell Me Why
13. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
14. Old Man
15. After the Gold Rush
16. Flying on the Ground is Wrong
17. Cowgirl in the Sand
18. Don’t Let it Bring You Down
19. Birds
20. Bad Fog of Loneliness
21. Ohio
22. See the Sky About to Rain
23. Dance Dance Dance

Listen to “Old Man”

Related: 1970 – The year in 50 classic rock albums

Best Classic Bands Staff

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Tim
    #1 Tim 3 October, 2021, 08:16

    Like previous live albums from this era Young Shakespeare, Massey Hall the sound is Crystal clear. I didn’t include Cellar Door( recorded a week before Carnegie) because the sound wasn’t nearly as sharp and clear. What makes this one better is the inclusion of songs like Nowadays Clancy…., Birds, Southern Man,The Loner,Cinnamon Girl and Expecting to Fly. Now hopefully NY will move on from this era(‘70-‘71) and release bootlegs from (‘74-‘78)

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.