Tesla Psychotic Supper Gets 25th Anniversary Vinyl

Share This:

Universal Music Enterprises - Psychotic SupperMetal band Tesla is celebrating the 25th anniversary of one of their most popular albums, Psychotic Supper. And to mark the occasion, Geffen Records (via Universal Music Enterprises) will be reissuing the album as a 2-LP vinyl set for the first time on July 22.

Psychotic Supper, the classic rock band’s third studio album, was originally released on August 30, 1991, and reached #13 on the Billboard Albums Chart, the highest of their career. The album featured an aggressive change in direction from the previous disc, and yielded an impressive five songs on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, including “What You Give,” which reached #7.

Other memorable songs on the album include “Edison’s Medicine,” “Call It What You Want,” “Song & Emotion” and “Stir It Up.” The band largely played on their stripped-down production, which enhanced the band’s bluesy take on rock’n’roll. The album was ultimately certified platinum in 1993 by the RIAA. The band themselves have been quoted as calling Psychotic Supper their best record.

Tesla was formed in Sacramento in 1981 by bassist Brian Wheat and Frank Hannon, with lead vocalist Jeff Keith, drummer Troy Luccketta and guitarist Tommy Skeoch joining them by 1984. Their debut album, Mechanical Resonance, came out in 1986, with many of the band’s themes and song titles inspired by the electrical engineer, Nikola Tesla, who gave them their name.  Their first three album releases – Mechanical Resonance, 1989’s The Great Radio Controversy and 1990’s live Five Man Acoustical Jam were all chart successes.

You can also catch Tesla on a North American Tour with Def Leppard and REO Speedwagon that is running from now until mid-October. Tickets are available here. Read more about that here.

The complete Psychotic Supper album track list:


  1. Change in the Weather
  2. Edison’s Medicine
  3. Don’t De-Rock Me


  1. Call It What You Want
  2. Song & Emotion
  3. Time
  4. Government Personnel


  1. Freedom Slaves
  2. Had Enough
  3. What You Give


  1. Stir It Up
  2. Can’t Stop
  3. Toke About It

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.