Frank Zappa Albums to Feature Unreleased Music

Share This:

Zappa-For-President-Album-Cover-980x980On July 15, Zappa Records/Universal Music Enterprises will release two Frank Zappa titles that will feature unreleased, rare and other unique tracks from the vaults of the iconic and idiosyncratic artist, composer bandleader and musical and political gadfly: Frank Zappa for President and The Crux of the Biscuit.

Frank Zappa for President arrives just in time for the 2016 presidential election season. Frank – who died from cancer in 1993 – had expressed interest in running for elected office, became known as a crusader for free speech after testifying at a 1985 Senate hearing on song lyrics, and had been designated as Czechoslovakia’s “Special Ambassador to the West on Trade, Culture and Tourism” by the country’s president, Václav Havel, a major Zappa fan. The album contains unreleased songs and live tracks with a political theme.

Related: Zappa family squabble.

Zappa-The-Crux-Album-Cover-980x980The Crux of the Biscuit was created in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of Frank Zappa’s 1974 album Apostrophe(‘). It contains rare alternate mixes, live performances and studio session outtakes. This release celebrates Zappa’s iconic, gold-certified LP, which landed in the Top 10 of the Billboard 200 albums chart.

The Zappa legacy remains active in the marketplace. Recent releases include a three-CD Lumpy Money Project/Object and his Road Tapes, Venue #1, Venue #2 and Venue #3 performance albums. On June 24th, Sony Pictures Classics will release the documentary film Eat That Question – Frank Zappa in His Own Words, an intimate encounter constructed solely by rare archival footage. To find more information about the film and where Eat That Question is playing in your area, visit the doc’s website here.  Meanwhile another Zappa film is in the works.

Related: Zappa doc & archives fundraising

Track Listing: Frank Zappa for President
1. Overture to “Uncle Sam”
2. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It (Remix)
3. Amnerika (Vocal Version)
4. “If I Was President…”
5. When the Lie’s So Big (Live)
6. Medieval Ensemble
7. America the Beautiful (Live)

Track Listing:  The Crux of the Biscuit
1.   Cosmik Debris
2.   Uncle Remus (Mix Outtake)
3.   Down In De Dew (Alternate Mix)
4.   Apostrophe’ (Mix Outtake)
5.   The Story Of Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow/St. Alphonzo’s Pancake Breakfast
6.   Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow/St. Alphonzo’s Pancake Breakfast (Live)
7.   Excentrifugal Forz (Mix Outtake)
8.   Energy Frontier (Take 4)
9.   Energy Frontier (Take 6 with OD’s)
10.  Energy Frontier (Bridge)
11.  Cosmik Debris (Basic Tracks Take 3)
12.  Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow (Basic Tracks- Alternate Take)
13.  Nanook Rubs It  (Basic Tracks- Outtake)
14.  Nanook Rubs It (Session Outtake)
15.  Frank’s Last Words…..

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.