Dolly Parton’s Holiday Album and Its Perfect Title

Share This:

Entertainment icon Dolly Parton released a holiday album, A Holly Dolly Christmas in 2020. The collection, featuring several Parton original compositions, was her first holiday album in 30 years.

The album also features duets with some of her dear friends including Billy Ray Cyrus, Miley Cyrus, and Willie Nelson.

Parton was a somewhat surprising choice for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022.

The first single from the album was a duet with Michael Bublé, “Cuddle Up, Cozy Down Christmas,” complete with an official animated video.

In the original announcement, Parton wrote: “I figured since everybody probably wouldn’t get to celebrate Christmas as usual this year, I wanted to be creative instead of sitting around at the house this summer. So I put on my mask, gloves and practiced social distancing, as well as all of the wonderful musicians and singers, and we proceeded to put together what I think is some of the best work that I’ve ever done. Kent Wells produced the album. As you know, Kent has been my friend, band leader and producer for many years. He’s outdone himself on this one. I’m just hoping that you’re gonna love it as much as we loved putting it together.”

Listen to the leadoff track, “Holly Jolly Christmas”

A Holly Dolly Christmas Track Listing

1. Holly Jolly Christmas – Dolly Parton
2. Christmas Is (feat. Miley Cyrus) – Dolly Parton
3. Cuddle Up, Cozy Down Christmas – Dolly Parton, Michael Bublé
4. Christmas On The Square – Dolly Parton
5. Circle Of Love – Dolly Parton
6. All I Want For Christmas Is You – Dolly Parton, Jimmy Fallon
7. Comin’ Home For Christmas – Dolly Parton
8. Christmas Where We Are (feat. Billy Ray Cyrus) – Dolly Parton
9. Pretty Paper – Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson
10. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus – Dolly Parton
11. You Are My Christmas (feat. Randy Parton) – Dolly Parton
12. Mary, Did You Know? – Dolly Parton

Watch the animated video for her recording with Willie Nelson of his composition, “Pretty Paper”

The beloved singer-songwriter, born January 19, 1946, has had 25 #1 country singles, and earned just about every music award imaginable. Those include nine Grammys, including a Lifetime Achievement Award. She was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1999.

Her compositions include “I Will Always Love You,” “Jolene,” “Coat of Many Colors” and “9 to 5.”

Related: Our Album Rewind of her collaboration with Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris, Trio

Best Classic Bands Staff

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Mee2
    #1 Mee2 22 August, 2020, 00:59

    This sounds like an album we’d like to buy as soon as it is released. All family members were ill last Christmas, maybe this album will bring us together. Thanks, Dolly!

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.