Dan Hicks Compilation Marks 1st Anniversary of Death

Share This:

Dan Hicks’ Greatest Licks

Surfdog Records has announced the release of Dan HicksGreatest Licks—I Feel Like Singin’, a compilation album paying tribute and celebrating the life and legacy of the singer-songwriter who died a year ago today (Feb. 6).

Greatest Licks is set for vinyl, CD and digital release on February 24. Starting February 10th, those placing pre-orders will receive a never-before-released version of “Strike It While It’s Hot!” In addition, the album also includes a never-before-released version of “I Don’t Want Love.” All tracks on Greatest Licks were re-mastered for vinyl from the original analog tapes.

Related: Remembering Dan Hicks

The collection was produced by Dave Darling (Brian Setzer, Glen Campbell) and Dave Kaplan, owner/CEO of Surfdog Records. It features 11 classic Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks songs (the CD and digital versions contain a 12th bonus track. The track list is below.

In other Hicks news, the artist’s life story will be coming to bookshelves in the spring. At the time of Hicks’ passing, he was only mid-way through finishing his memoir, but author Kristine McKenna picked up where Hicks left off and has finished the book. I Scare Myself will be published by Jawbone Press on April 18, in softcover and very limited-edition hardcover editions. It includes a foreword by Elvis Costello and afterword by friend and former record label boss, Tommy LiPuma.

Pre-order Greatest Licks–I Feel Like Singin’ here.


Track Listing for Greatest Licks—I Feel Like Singin’

  1. Strike It While It’s Hot!
  2. Where’s The Money?
  3. That Ain’t Right
  4. I Scare Myself
  5. I Don’t Want Love
  6. Tangled Tales
  7. How Can I Miss You When You Won’t Go Away?
  8. The Piano Has Been Drinkin’
  9. That’s Where I Am
  10. Hey Bartender
  11. I Feel Like Singin’
  12. The Blues My Naughty Baby Gave To Me *CD and digital-only bonus track

Watch Dan Hicks and his Hot Licks in 1972

If you’re a new reader, we’d be grateful if you would Like our Facebook page and/or bookmark our Home page.

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.