Rock Vets Form Sons of Apollo

Share This:

A new band called Sons of Apollo, featuring members of Dream Theater, Mr. Big, Guns N’ Roses and Journey, will release their debut album, Psychotic Symphony, Oct. 20 on InsideOutMusic/Sony Music.

Pre-order the CD here.

According to a press release, “For the past few months, rumors have been circulating about a new secret project including former Dream Theater members Mike Portnoy and Derek Sherinian. Now, the time has come to make the grand and highly anticipated introduction to their new band, Sons of Apollo…Portnoy and Sherinian have joined forces with Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (ex-Guns ’N Roses), Billy Sheehan (the Winery Dogs, Mr. Big, David Lee Roth) and Jeff Scott Soto (ex-Journey, ex-Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force).

Watch the video for “Coming Home,” released on Sept. 15

Psychotic Symphony was produced by the Portnoy and Sherinian, also known as “The Del Fuvio Brothers,” nickname given to them over 20 years ago during their time together in Dream Theater.

Related: Derek Sherinian is also involved in the new Black Country Communion

Have a listen to “Signs of the Time”

Portnoy, Sherinian and Sheehan previously toured together in 2012 and 2013 as PSMS (along with guitarist Tony MacAlpine), playing all instrumental versions from their previously recorded music. “The next logical progression [was] adding a vocalist and creating all-original material,” the release says. “The band incorporates the progressive style and individual technical prowess that Portnoy and Sherinian shared together in Dream Theater combined with the swagger and groove of Van Halen, Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin.”

Sons of Apollo (Photo by William Hames, used with permission)

Sons of Apollo will hit the road in 2018 for their first worldwide tour.

“This is a real band,” Portnoy says in the announcement. “This is going to pick up for me and Billy where the Winery Dogs left off, in terms of this being the next logical full-time thing for us. I’m not saying The Winery Dogs have broken up, because we haven’t, we’re just on a break. Sons of Apollo is absolutely going to be a full-time band and we plan on touring all over the world all throughout 2018 and, honestly, it is the priority for all five of us.”

Watch the album teaser.

Psychotic Symphony Track Listing

1. God of The Sun
2. Coming Home
3. Signs of the Time
4. Labyrinth
5. Alive
6. Lost In Oblivion
7. Figaro’s Whore
8. Divine Addiction
9. Opus Maximus


Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.