HBO Series Vinyl Debuts Sunday

Share This:
Bobby Cannavale is at the center of the action in the new HBO series Vinyl

Bobby Cannavale is at the center of the action in the new HBO series Vinyl

We’re just days’ away from the premiere of the new HBO series Vinyl and the first soundtrack has been unveiled. Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series – Volume 1 is the full-length companion to the series’ premiere episode, featuring brand new tracks from Sturgill Simpson and Kaleo as well as classics by Mott the Hoople, Edgar Winter and other classic rock performers. The record is set to arrive online and in stores on Friday, February 12th, just two days before the series itself premieres. After that, fans can expect a new digital EP every subsequent Friday, featuring music from that week’s upcoming episode.

Set in New York in the early 1970s, Vinyl centers around record label bigwig Richie Finestra (Bobby Cannavale), offering up what the official synopsis calls “a ride through the sex- and drug-addled music business at the dawn of punk, disco and hip-hop.” The series was created by Terence Winter, who’s best known for his work on Boardwalk Empire and The Sopranos. It boasts plenty of other top behind-the-scenes talent: executive producers include Martin Scorsese (who also directed the premiere) and Mick Jagger.

The cast also features Olivia Wilde (as the wife of Cannavale’s character), Ray Romano (as the label’s head of radio promotion) and Andrew “Dice” Clay (as the owner of several radio stations).

Each episode of Vinyl is rumored to have a six-figure music budget, featuring a blend of old and new tracks from rising stars and legendary artists, including revitalized takes on old numbers. For the first soundtrack, David Johansen refreshes a pair of New York Dolls classics exclusively for the series, and the series’ main title “Sugar Daddy” is a brand new offering from Sturgill Simpson. “Rotten Apple” was co-written by Mick Jagger and his son, James, who also appears in the show as the frontman of fictional band Nasty Bits. Some other standout classic performers from the initial soundtrack are Foghat, Otis Redding and Ruth Brown, performing pop, rock, disco and soul favorites. Don’t miss the two-hour Vinyl series premiere on Valentine’s Day, February 14th on HBO.

“Crime. Drugs. Sex. Guns. Madness.” Sounds like a winning formula to us!

Here’s the original trailer with Cannivale’s out-of-control, drug-fueled character…

Trailer #2…great hair…

And here’s the most recent trailer, which emphasizes young Jagger’s band…

Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series – Volume 1 Complete Track Listing:
1. Ty Taylor – The World Is Yours
2. David Johansen – Personality Crisis
3. Kaleo – No Good
4. Sturgill Simpson – Sugar Daddy (Theme from Vinyl)
5. Ruth Brown – Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean
6. Otis Redding – Mr. Pitiful
7. Dee Dee Warwick – Suspicious Minds
8. Mott the Hoople – All The Way From Memphis
9. David Johansen – Stranded In The Jungle
10. Chris Kenner – I Like It Like That
11. Ty Taylor – Cha Cha Twist
12. The Jimmy Castor Bunch – It’s Just Begun
13. Soda Machine – Want Ads
14. The Meters – Hand Clapping Song
15. Soda Machine – Slippin’ Into Darkness
16. Edgar Winter – Frankenstein
17. Nasty Bits – Rotten Apple
18. Foghat – I Just Want To Make Love To You

Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.