Black Sabbath: Prev. Unreleased Live Material on Deluxe Editions

Share This:

Singer Ronnie James Dio joined Black Sabbath in 1979 and quickly found kindred spirits in guitarist Tony Iommi, bassist Geezer Butler, and drummer Bill Ward. The new lineup quickly yielded two classic albums: 1980’s Heaven and Hell and 1981’s Mob Rules. Both titles have received newly remastered deluxe editions with rare and unreleased music on March 5, 2021, via Rhino.

Each album is available on 2-CD or 2-LP sets. (Due to space constraints, both vinyl editions include a selection of bonus material from the CDs.) A rare live version of “Heaven and Hell” and a previously unreleased live version of “The Mob Rules” were released on Jan. 13, the day of the announcement.

Listen to the live version of “Heaven and Hell”

Heaven and Hell was released in April 1980 and reached #9 in the U.K. and #28 in the U.S., where it was also certified platinum. Its deluxe edition adds several bonus tracks that have never been released in North America, including versions of “Children of the Sea” and “Die Young” recorded live in 1980 in Hartford, Conn. The set concludes with live rarities like “E5150” and “Neon Knights” that originally appeared in 2007 on the Rhino Handmade’s limited edition collection, Black Sabbath: Live at Hammersmith Odeon.

The group returned to the studio in 1981 to begin recording Mob Rules, with drummer Vinny Appice joining the band for the first time. Released in October 1981 and certified gold, the album includes “The Sign of the Southern Cross,” “Turn Up the Night” and the title track.

The deluxe edition boasts an expansive selection of rare and unreleased recordings. Along with additional tracks from Live at Hammersmith Odeon, the collection includes an entire concert recorded in 1982 in Portland, OR. See the complete track listing and hear several more performances below the links.

Listen to “The Mob Rules” live in Portland

The Dio-fronted lineup disbanded in 1982 but reunited a decade later to record Dehumanizer and tour before going on hiatus again. The group came together again in 2006 to record three new songs for Rhino’s era-spanning collection, Black Sabbath: The Dio Years. The collaboration led to a highly anticipated world tour in 2007 where the group was billed as Heaven and Hell. Their final album of new material, 2009’s The Devil You Know, again demonstrated the musical bond between the band members was unparalleled.

Related: 13 bands that changed their lead singers

Heaven and Hell: Deluxe Edition (2-CD Track Listing)

Disc One: Original Album (2021 Remaster)
1. “Neon Knights”
2. “Children Of The Sea”
3. “Lady Evil”
4. “Heaven And Hell”
5. “Wishing Well”
6. “Die Young”
7. “Walk Away”
8. “Lonely Is The Word”

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks
1. “Children Of The Sea” – Live B-Side Of “Neon Knights” *
2. “Heaven And Hell” – Live B-Side Of “Die Young” *
3. “Lady Evil” – 7” Mono Edit (unreleased on CD)
Hartford Civic Center, Hartford, CT (August 10, 1980)
4. “Neon Knights” *
5. “Children Of The Sea” *
6. “Heaven And Hell” *
7. “Die Young” *
Hammersmith Odeon, London (Dec 31, 1981- Jan 2, 1982)
8. “E5150”
9. “Neon Knights”
10. “Children Of The Sea”
11. “Heaven And Hell”

Listen to “Neon Knights” live

Mob Rules: Deluxe Edition 2-CD Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album (2021 Remaster)
1. “Turn Up The Night”
2. “Voodoo”
3. “The Sign Of The Southern Cross”
4. “E5150”
5. “The Mob Rules”
6. “Country Girl”
7. “Slipping Away”
8. “Falling Off The Edge Of The World”
9. “Over And Over”
Bonus Tracks
10. “The Mob Rules” – Heavy Metal Soundtrack Version
11. “Die Young” – Live B-Side of “Mob Rules” 7” *
12. “The Mob Rules” – New 2021 Mix **
Live at the Hammersmith Odeon London (31/12/81 – 2/1/82)
13. “Country Girl”
14. “Slipping Away”
15. “The Mob Rules”
16. “Voodoo”
Live At Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR, April 22, 1982
17. Intro **
18. “Neon Knights” **

Listen to “Voodoo” live at the Hammersmith Odeon

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks
Live At Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR, April 22, 1982
1. “N.I.B.” **
2. “Children Of The Sea” **
3. “Voodoo” **
4. “Black Sabbath” **
5. “War Pigs” **
6. Drum Solo **
7. “Iron Man” **
8. “The Mob Rules” **
9. “Heaven And Hell” **
10. Guitar Solo **
11. “Sign Of The Southern Cross/Heaven And Hell” – Reprise **
12. “Paranoid” **
13. “Children Of The Grave” **

* previously unreleased in North America
** previously unreleased

Listen to the previously unreleased live performance of “War Pigs”

Best Classic Bands Staff

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Christopher johnson
    #1 Christopher johnson 14 January, 2021, 13:05

    Blessed to have been able to see Heaven and Hell in 2007. It was Testament, MotorHead, Heaven and Hell with Judas Priest in Pennsylvania. Drove from Mansfield Oh all by myself. To sit in the middle of thousands of like minded fans. Awesome show and even more awesome memory!!!

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.