Marianne Faithfull’s Lyric Video For ‘As Tears Go By’: Watch

Share This:

A lyric video for Marianne Faithfull’s first hit single, “As Tears Go By,” has been released. The song is featured on the 2018 collection of all of Faithfull’s U.K. singles, which was released on October 26, 2018, by ABKCO Records.

Watch it below.

Come and Stay With Me: The UK 45s 1964-1969 is a 22-track collection compiled in chronological order and includes all of the legend’s singles from this unique era packaged with rare photographs and extensive liner notes, featuring interviews with Faithfull. In addition to the A- and B-sides of each 45 recorded for the Decca label in the 1960s, the album includes the entirety of her Go Away From My World EP.

Faithfull’s Decca singles are string-laden U.K. ‘60s pop and offer insight into both her roots and artistic development. Come and Stay With Me opens with her bittersweet 1964 version of the Mick Jagger/Keith Richards composition “As Tears Go By” (co-written with their manager Andrew Loog Oldham who changed the title from “As Time Goes By”), a #9 U.K. hit (and #22 in the U.S.). The album closes with her original chilling 1969 rendition of the dark song, she co-wrote with Jagger and Richards, “Sister Morphine.” It was later remodeled by the Rolling Stones on their classic 1971 album Sticky Fingers. It between are such U.K. and U.S. hits as “Come and Stay With Me,” “This Little Bird,” “Summer Nights” and “Yesterday.” (See the complete track listing below.)

From the original announcement of the collection: Born in Hampstead, U.K. in 1946 to a former British Army spy and a ballerina, Faithfull moved to Reading where, by her early teens, she could be found in coffee bars singing folk songs. Her repertoire included “House of the Rising Sun” and Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ In The Wind,” both of which she would eventually record for Decca and are part of the new collection.

After immersing herself in London’s party scene, she befriended Andrew Loog Oldham, who upon realizing that she could sing, quickly signed her. Her subsequent romance with Mick Jagger from the mid-1960s until the end of the decade would become a national obsession. The couple was viewed as emblematic figures of the era, the media fixation obscuring and ultimately hurting her own career.

Watch the lyric video for “As Tears Go By”

Come And Stay With Me restores the focus upon the magnificent folk (a remarkable rendition of the traditional “Greensleeves,” produced by Oldham) and popular music (including versions of Jackie DeShannon’s “Come And Stay With Me,” Donovan’s ‘The Most Of What Is Least” and John D. Loudermilk’s “This Little Bird”) that Faithfull created at Decca as she stumbled towards writing her own material and moving towards a redemptive career path. The package also features extensive biographical notes by music journalist Kris Needs, which are informed by his longstanding close friendship with the singer, and were forged using numerous interviews during the past four decades.

Related: Our interview with Faithfull

Listen to Faithfull’s version of “This Little Bird”

Marianne Faithfull – Come and Stay With Me: The UK 45s 1964-1969 Track List

1) As Tears Go By
2) Greensleeves
3) Blowin’ In the Wind
4) House of the Rising Sun
5) Come and Stay With Me
6) What Have I Done Wrong
7) This Little Bird
8) Morning Sun
9) Go Away From My World
10) The Most of What Is Least
11) Et Maintenant
12) The Sha La La Song
13) Summer Nights
14) Yesterday
15) Oh Look Around You
16) Tomorrow’s Calling
17) That’s Right Baby
18) Counting
19) Like To Dial Your Number
20) Is This What I Get For Loving You?
21) Something Better
22) Sister Morphine

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.