Tom Petty’s ‘Angel Dream’ Reimagines ‘She’s the One’ Soundtrack

Share This:

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ 1996 album Songs and Music from the Motion Picture ‘She’s The One’ is getting a remixed, remastered and reimagined version with several previously unreleased tracks in honor of its 25th anniversary. The new collection, Angel Dream, a nod to one of the tracks, will be released by Warner Records on limited-edition cobalt blue vinyl for Record Store Day this Saturday, June 12, 2021, with the CD and black vinyl release following on July 2. It’s the latest release during Petty‘s Wildflowers era to receive a fresh look.

She’s The One was originally a great way to include some of the songs that didn’t make it on to Wildflowers,” said Heartbreakers keyboard player Benmont Tench. “It was [also] interesting to try to cut covers of others’ songs for a record, instead of learning covers just for live shows. I’ve always loved Lucinda [Williams’] song ‘Change the Locks,’ so I was more than happy to cut it with our band.”

Related: Our Album Rewind of Wildflowers, Petty’s masterpiece

“Oh, and this album has ‘Angel Dream’ on it, one of the loveliest songs Tom ever wrote,” added Tench.

Listen to “Angel Dream (No. 2)” from the album

“There’s some cool stuff on this record that has never come out before. I especially love the JJ Cale song ‘Thirteen Days,’” says the Heartbreakers’ Mike Campbell. “We had a lot of fun playing that song live and it’s great to have a recording of it from the studio. ‘Supernatural Radio’ is extended with some great jamming interplay within the band, which I’m very proud of. The Heartbreakers could be really amazing and spontaneous.”

In a 1996 interview, Petty said, “It seemed like we approached the whole thing with a very spontaneous mood. I like things that way, I don’t like to over-plan too much. It was terrific fun, we had a great time doing it.”

Ryan Ulyate remixed the audio for the reissue and worked with Petty on the mixes before his passing. The song selection was designed to work as a Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers album rather than a film soundtrack, and four unreleased tracks were added —the Petty originals “One of Life’s Little Mysteries” and “105 Degrees,” Cale’s “Thirteen Days,” and “French Disconnection” (an instrumental in the same vein as the instrumentals on the original album). An extended version of “Supernatural Radio” is also included.

Angel Dream Songs and Music from the Motion Picture ‘She’s The One’ Track Listing

1. Angel Dream (No. 2)
2. Grew Up Fast
3. Change The Locks
4. Zero From Outer Space
5. Asshole
6. One of Life’s Little Mysteries
7. Walls (No. 3)
8. Thirteen Days
9. 105 Degrees
10. Climb That Hill
11. Supernatural Radio (Extended Version)
12. French Disconnection

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.