Songwriters Hall of Fame 2023 Nominees Include Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood, Ann and Nancy Wilson

Share This:

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its slate of nominees to be voted upon for induction at its 54th Annual Induction & Awards Gala on June 15, 2023, in New York City. Among the classic rock legends under consideration for the Class of 2023 are Clem Burke, Debbie Harry, and Chris Stein of Blondie; Jeff Lynne; Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald, and Patrick Simmons of the Doobie Brothers; Bryan Adams; Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson of Heart; Steve Winwood; Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe of R.E.M.; and Patti Smith.

Several superstars of other genres were also nominated including Gloria Estefan, Vince Gill, Snoop Dogg, and Sade Adu (p/k/a/ Sade).

The non-performers in the Nov. 14 announcement include six-time Grammy-winner Glen Ballard, who co-wrote and produced the Alanis Morissette album, Jagged Little Pill, among his accomplishments. The songwriting team of Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart were responsible for such classic hits by the Monkees as their TV theme song “Hey, Hey We’re the Monkees,” “Last Train to Clarksville” and “(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone.” Sandy Lizer and Denny Randell wrote and produced the Toys classic “A Lover’s Concerto” and “Working My Way Back to You,” “Opus 17 (Don’t You Worry ‘Bout Me),” and (with Bob Crewe) “Let’s Hang On (To What We’ve Got)” for the Four Seasons.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame is dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create music around the world. A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the first significant commercial release of a song.

Related: Tom Petty and Elvis Costello were among those selected in 2016

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.