Songwriters Hall of Fame 2023 Includes Jeff Lynne, Gloria Estefan

Share This:

Jeff Lynne performs onstage at the 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony at Barclays Center on April 7, 2017 in New York City. (Photo by Kevin Kane/WireImage for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Used with permission)

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced the inductees for its 54th Annual Induction & Awards Gala, to be held on June 15, 2023, in New York City. The Class of 2023 consists of a group of seven: Jeff Lynne, Gloria Estefan, Glen Ballard, Sade, Snoop Dogg, Liz Rose, and Teddy Riley. The news was revealed today (Jan. 18) on CBS This Morning.

Among those nominated on Nov. 14 but not selected are Clem Burke, Debbie Harry, and Chris Stein of Blondie; Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald, and Patrick Simmons of the Doobie Brothers; Bryan Adams; Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson of Heart; Steve Winwood; Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe of R.E.M.; Vince Gill; the songwriting team of Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart; and Patti Smith.

When the news of his induction was announced, Lynne wrote, “I’m very excited about this honor. Songwriting has always been my passion. This means so much to me.” The founder of the Electric Light Orchestra wrote, arranged and produced virtually all of ELO’s recordings. He later collaborated with Tom Petty and George Harrison, and with those two he co-founded the Traveling Wilburys along with Bob Dylan and Roy Orbison.

Estefan is a seven-time Grammy Award winner and the first Hispanic woman to be inducted and one of the biggest Latin music crossover stars of all time. She has earned three #1 pop hits.

Ballard is a six-time Grammy-winner, who co-wrote and produced the Alanis Morissette album, Jagged Little Pill, among his accomplishments. Riley is credited with the creation of the New Jack Swing genre where he fused hip-hop and R&B in his productions for such artists as Keith Sweat and Johnny Kemp.

Calvin Broadus Jr. (p/k/a Snoop Dogg) first came to prominence with his 1992 #1 debut album, The Chronic, while expanding hip-hop. Rose is a frequent collaborator with Taylor Swift, and his penned hits for Little Big Town, Carrie Underwood and Kenny Chesney.

The Nigerian-born Sade has earned worldwide success with such songs as “Smooth Operator” and “The Sweetest Taboo.”

Related: Listings for 100s of classic rock tours

The Songwriters Hall of Fame is dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create music around the world. A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the first significant commercial release of a song.

Related: Tom Petty and Elvis Costello were among those selected in 2016

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

7 Comments so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Ray
    #1 Ray 18 January, 2023, 14:07

    Jeff Lynne was way overdue, but Snoop gets in and Johnston, McDonald, and Simmons don’t? Ridiculous.

    Reply this comment
    • JCB
      JCB 19 January, 2023, 08:46

      A complete joke. Sad to see these institutions kowtow to no talents and leave great talents waiting.

      Reply this comment
  2. Da Mick
    #2 Da Mick 19 January, 2023, 05:50

    The disparity as songwriters between Jeff Lynne and the rest who are getting in should tell you all you need to know about the “Songwriter’s Hall of Fame,” not to mention those chosen versus who actually were chosen. I don’t see much difference in the integrity of this organization than I do with the ridiculousness of the R&R Hall of Fame. I don’t really see the point of these organizations as they exist now.

    Reply this comment
  3. Stuart
    #3 Stuart 19 January, 2023, 06:41

    I’m amazed that Boyce and Hart aren’t already in.

    Reply this comment
  4. Goldy
    #4 Goldy 19 January, 2023, 11:14

    Steve Winwood didn’t make it in? What a joke.

    Reply this comment
  5. Chris
    #5 Chris 19 January, 2023, 17:02

    Jeff Lynne is a genius, period. But to leave out Steve Winwood, Tom Johnston, Pat Simmons, Mike McDonald, the Wilson sisters, guys/gals who’ve been writing generational music for over 60yrs tells me its just another Hall of Fame with no credibility.

    Reply this comment
  6. Cary
    #6 Cary 20 January, 2023, 02:09

    The Songwriters Hall of Fame recognizes those whose lyrics gave had a transformative effect on advancing the craft of writing lyrics that have influenced songwriters who have come after them. No doubt Lynne has done that with his work with ELO as well as the Beatles, Joe Walsh, The Traveling Wilburys, Roy Orbison etc. As for the others … meh.

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.