Neil Young Releases ‘Paradox’ Film Soundtrack

Share This:

The ever-prolific Neil Young + Promise of the Real released Paradox (Original Music from The Film) on double vinyl and digitally on March 23, with the CD to follow on April 20. Paradox features music from Young + POTR and Young with an orchestra recorded on the MGM Soundstage, Young backed by Jim Keltner, Paul Bushnell and Joe Yankee, and several solo electric guitar passages. All music was recorded spontaneously with no overdubs (with the exception of Joe Yankee, who phoned in his part from Canada) and provides the soundtrack to Paradox, the film.

The film, written and directed by Daryl Hannah, is described in a press release as “a fantasy, a loud poem and a whimsical tale of music and love…a sweetly idiosyncratic personal expression.” The plot, according to the release: “Some time in the future-past, a band of outlaws hides out high in the Mountains. The ‘Man in the Black Hat’ (Neil Young), the ‘Particle Kid’ (Micah Nelson) and ‘Jail Time’ (Lukas Nelson) and a band of cowboys and outlaws pass the days digging for treasure while they wait for the full moon to bring its magic, the music and let the spirits fly.”

Paradox premiered at the SXSW Film Festival on March 15. It launched on Netflix on March 23 and will play in a limited theatrical release.

All songs were written by Neil Young unless otherwise noted.

Watch the video for “Peace Trail,” released on March 30

Related: Neil Young recently released a 1973 live show

In other news, Neil Young + Promise of the Real will perform live at Arroyo Seco Weekend on June 23, in Pasadena, Calif. Then on July 6, Young + POTR will perform at Festival d’Été de Québec, the largest music festival in Canada.

Click here to learn more about Neil Young Archives.

Vinyl track listing for Paradox (Original Music From The Film)
Produced by Neil Young and John Hanlon

Side 1:
Many Moons Ago In The Future (Narration by Willie Nelson)
Show Me
Paradox Passage 1
Paradox Passage 2
Diggin’ In The Dirt – Chorus (written by Neil Young, Lukas Nelson &
Micah Nelson)
Paradox Passage 3
Peace Trail

Side 2:
Cowgirl Jam
Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground (written by Willie Nelson)

Side 3:
Paradox Passage 4
Diggin’ In The Dirt (written by Neil Young, Lukas Nelson & Micah Nelson)
Paradox Passage 5
Running To The Silver Eagle (written by Neil Young + POTR)
Baby What You Want Me To Do? (written by Jimmy Reed)
Paradox Passage 6
How Long? (written by Huddle Ledbetter)
Happy Together (written by Garry Bonner & Alan Lee Gordon)

Side 4:
Etched artwork

Watch the official trailer for the Paradox film


Best Classic Bands Staff

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.