Van Morrison Releasing New Album, ‘Versatile’

Share This:

Following the massive success of his 37th studio album, Roll With the Punches (which charted at No 4 in the U.K. this September), Van Morrison will release his 38th, titled Versatile, on Dec. 1 via Legacy Recordings.

Pre-order the CD here.

Pre-order LP here.

According to a press release from Legacy, “Versatile is positive proof that Van Morrison is built differently to other artists. One of very few British recording artists to warrant the description ‘living legend,’ Van is currently working at a rate to put musicians a third of his age to shame; an ethic that harks back to his early days as a recording artist who’d easily release multiple brilliant long players within the space of a year.”

Related: Looking at Van’s classic His Band and Street Choir album

“While Roll With the Punches saw Van revisit many of the definitive rhythm and blues records that have stayed with him all his life, Van’s latest album sees him delve further back into recorded music’s archives to interpret some of the 20th century’s greatest vocal jazz standards,” says the release.

Across Versatile’s 16 tracks, Morrison “interprets some of the very building blocks of modern music in his own utterly unique style,” says the announcement. As well as songs originally made famous by the likes of Chet Baker, Frank Sinatra, the Righteous Brothers, Tony Bennett and Nat “King” Cole, Versatile features six new compositions, including “Broken Record.”

Van Morrison (Photo ©Jill Furmanovsky; used with permission)

Versatile Track Listing

Broken Record (Van Morrison)
A Foggy Day (George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin)
Let’s Get Lost (Frank Loesser and Jimmy McHugh)
Bye Bye Blackbird (Ray Henderson and Mort Dixon)
Skye Boat Song (Traditional. Arranged by Van Morrison)
Take It Easy Baby (Van Morrison)
Makin’ Whoopee (Walter Donaldson and Gus Kahn)
I Get a Kick Out of You (Cole Porter)
I Forgot That Love Existed (Van Morrison)
Unchained Melody (Alex North and Hy Zaret)
Start All Over Again (Van Morrison)
Only A Dream (Van Morrison)
Affirmation featuring Sir James Galway (Van Morrison)
The Party’s Over (Betty Comden, Adolph Green and Jule Styne)
I Left My Heart in San Francisco (George Cory and Douglass Cross)
They Can’t Take That Away from Me (George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin)

Tracks on the album were recorded at Stormont Hotel, Co. Down; The Courtyard, Clandeboye Estate, Co.Down; The Culloden Hotel, Co.Down; Slieve Donard Hotel, Co. Down; Dunluce Castle, Co. Antrim and Holywood Studio, Co. Down.

Listen to “Makin’ Whoopee”

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter


Watch Van Morrison sing “Unchained Melody” at a 2012 festival

Best Classic Bands Staff

Best Classic Bands Staff

The BCB team brings you the latest Breaking News, Contests, On This Day rock history stories, Classic Videos, retro-Charts and more.
Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.