Nancy Wilson’s 1st Solo Album to Feature Tribute to Eddie Van Halen

Share This:

Nancy Wilson of Heart is set to release her first solo album, You and Me, on May 7, 2021, via her new label, Carry On Music. The album ends with “4 Edward,” Wilson’s tribute to Eddie Van Halen, who died in 2020.

Wilson came to know the guitar legend when Heart toured with Van Halen. “4 Edward” is said to capture the full spectrum of loss, love and redemption in one instrumental coda.

The album was recorded primarily in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee’s California home studio, working with band members and special guests remotely. “Being off the road last year from touring with Heart, and at home with my good guitars and amps out,” Wilson says in the Feb. 22 announcement, “I felt like I was once again able to reconnect with my pre-Heart self, my college-girl self, creating poetic, intimate and romantic songs, which pretty much is what I first brought in to Heart.”

Most of the tracks are originals, but Wilson decided to include a handful of covers by a few of her favorites, including a female perspective of Pearl Jam’s “Daughter,” a stirring turn of Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer” featuring Sammy Hagar, and an ethereal cover of the Cranberries “Dreams,” featuring Liv Warfield (Prince) with whom Wilson collaborated with in the band Roadcase Royale. The first single from the album was a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “The Rising,” which was released last fall. “During this horrific time in the world, with all this enduring loss, it seemed like the right time for an aspirational song about hope and perseverance,” Wilson says.

The other eight tracks are originals, mostly acoustic ballads, but there are also some rousing rockers like “Party at the Angel Ballroom” which features a superstar backing band, including Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Taylor Hawkins of the Foo Fighters.

The title track “You and Me,” as with several of the songs on the album, reunites Wilson with longtime collaborator Sue Ennis, who co-wrote many of Heart’s classics with Nancy, and sister Ann. “I’ve known Sue since I was 12,” Nancy says. “Back then she was a high school friend of Ann’s. We’ve always worked well together.” The single will be released on March 8 with an album pre-order set to launch the same day.

With her band Heart, Wilson has recorded 16 albums, sold over 35 million albums worldwide and has four Grammy nominations. She had previously released one other album with just her name on it, Live at McCabe’s Guitar Shop, which captured her playing a set of covers and new songs in 1999. She considers this her first true solo album, a positive creative move amid a surreal year of loss; life during lock down.

“I don’t know why it took me so long to do this,” she laughs. “Maybe I was stuck in traffic, maybe I was stuck in the Heart vortex of it all.” But in a year with “no traffic,” Wilson finally found a place for the music she’s been writing in her head for decades.

You and Me Track Listing
1. You and Me
2. The Rising
3. I’ll Find You
4. Daughter
5. Party at the Angel Ballroom (with Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins)
6. The Boxer (with Sammy Hagar)
7. Walk Away
8. The Inbetween
9. Dreams (with Liv Warfield)
10. The Dragon
11. We Meet Again
12. 4 Edward

Related: Our conversation with Nancy Wilson

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

2 Comments so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. RecordSteve
    #1 RecordSteve 22 February, 2021, 23:16

    Beautiful flower-power dress=rock on!

    Reply this comment
  2. JCB
    #2 JCB 23 February, 2021, 11:59

    That is a great sound on The Rising. Always loved her playing and her voice. I’ve seen Heart several times over 40 years, they deliver.

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.