Alice Cooper Reveals New Album, Detroit Stories

Share This:

Alice Cooper (Photo: Jenny Risher)

Alice Cooper has announced a new studio album, Detroit Stories, coming February 26, 2021, on earMUSIC. Named for the city that launched the original Alice Cooper band on the road to success, the album follows 2019’s Breadcrumbs EP. Detroit Stories was produced by longtime collaborator Bob Ezrin and features several Detroit music legends including the MC5’s Wayne Kramer, the Detroit Wheels’ drummer Johnny “Bee” Badanjek and guitarist Steve Hunter, Paul Randolph, as well as the Motor City Horns and other local musicians.

On Nov. 13, Cooper released his cover of the Velvet Underground’s “Rock ‘n’ Roll.” Written by Lou Reed, the song was famously recorded by Mitch Ryder & the Detroit Wheels. Bee and Hunter reprise their roles, adding Joe Bonamassa as a bonus.

Listen to “Rock ‘n’ Roll”

From the Nov. 11 announcement: In 1970, fledgling producer Bob Ezrin walked into a farmhouse on the outskirts of Detroit to work with the Alice Cooper band. Abandoning flower power Los Angeles, because they were the opposite of the hippie peace and love ideal, Alice had brought his decidedly darker gang back to his birthplace to the legendary rock scene that gave birth to hard rock, garage rock, soul, funk, punk… and more.

Ezrin drilled the band for 10 hours a day to define their signature sound. Whenever they nailed a song, the inmates at the hospital for the criminally insane across the road cheered and thus the classic Alice Cooper sound was born.

“Detroit was heavy rock central then,” says Cooper. “You’d play the Eastown [Theatre] and it would be Alice Cooper, Ted Nugent, the Stooges and the Who, for $4! The next weekend at the Grande it was MC5, Brownsville Station and Fleetwood Mac, or Savoy Brown or the Small Faces. You couldn’t be a soft-rock band or you’d get your ass kicked.

“Los Angeles had its sound with the Doors, Love and Buffalo Springfield,” he adds, “San Francisco had the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane. New York had the Rascals and the Velvet Underground. But Detroit was the birthplace of angry hard rock. After not fitting in anywhere in the U.S. (musically or image wise), Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound and our crazy stage show. Detroit was a haven for the outcasts. And when they found out I was born in East Detroit… we were home.”

The DVD and Blu-ray will feature the live performance, “A Paranormal Evening at the Olympia Paris,” for the first time on video.

Detroit Stories Tracklist
1. Rock ‘n’ Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change the World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk and in Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By a Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up and Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Related: Our Album Rewind of Billion Dollar Babies

  • Sign up for the Best Classic Bands Newsletter

Best Classic Bands Staff
Share This:

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation
  1. Timflyte
    #1 Timflyte 14 November, 2020, 23:45

    Finally a old voice from the past who can still rock !!! Covering ” rock n roll ” is as ballsy as it gets nowadays. Hopefully the rest is as powerful. Great drumming and lead guitar. Great to hear a rocker singing rock n roll instead of some political crap. Alice is and was a great entertainer. It would’ve been cool if some of the original band was in on this.

    Reply this comment

Your data will be safe!Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.